Spinach Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My husband loved these! I used crescent rolls instead of the phyllo dough...very easy. I have been requested to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is very tasty, attractive and easy for a quick spinach pie. Just remember to allow time for the spinach to thaw. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I made this at work today it is absolutely delicious. I need make a couple of change though. I sauteed ground beef with the onions and added some seasonings. I mixed it with the remaining ingredients and put a scoop on an 5" puffed pastry square which I then fold and pinched like a turnover. I brushed the tops with egg whites and baked a 400 until puffed and golden.. Awesome!! Thanks Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
my husband wanted spinach pies like his lebanese grandma used to make ... and although i will never reach that standard, this turned out great and buttery and SUPER easy using refrigerator biscuits -- although the filling mixture should be halved for 8 grands biscuits. i sauteed the onions and some minced garlic before adding them to the spinach/cheese mixture (husband said more onions next time), only used 1 cup of cheese (husband is fairly lactose intolerant), added some italian seasonings. got a can of flaky biscuits and separated them into halves. spooned mixture into center of one side, covered with the other, pressed down edges with fork. cut 3 slits in tops. cooked on 200 for 40 minutes which heated up the insides -- then followed biscuit baking directions (350 for 14-17 minutes) and finally broiled for a minute to get the tops brown. will be making again soon to use up the rest of the filling. thanks! UPDATE: used up rest of filling, this time made casserole-type dish. put half biscuits on bottom of greased glass dish (had to smush them around some to get it covered), topped with spinach mixture (with extra sauteed onions added), plopped rest of biscuits on top. cooked same amount of time. EVEN BETTER because 1. super easy and 2. MORE spinach-y. have already been requested again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This was an amazing recipe! It was so simple and it literally took mere minutes to throw together. I don't think it really matters what kind of cheese you use. I used fresh spinach and this still tasted great. It also makes for great leftovers. I made it all for myself and it was my lunch for an entire week (plus dinner once or twice - depending on serving size, of course, but a little bit will do ya!) I will definitely try this again. I might add mushrooms to it or potatoes - it was really that versatile. Didn't use phyllo dough, per se, but I used "baking pastry dough" - it's basically the same thing. Can't recommend enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Le

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I looked at the amount of cheese in the bowl and went out and bought another 10 oz package of spinach, doubling the green stuff and the onion. I also thought the recipe was vague about the quantity of phyllo dough (2 sheets?) I used a 1-lb package divided 4 ways (about 10 thin sheets per roll)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wytten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
this was really good but i felt like it needed a little something more... maybe it was the onions that i left out. i added garlic to the spinach mixture thought. i will make this again definitely and add the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Excellent! I served this when my mom wasn't hungry and she devoured it! Hubby even loved it. I can't wait to make it again. I made 4 "loaves" instead of 2 big ones. Extremely easy to make as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I'm a relatively inexperienced cook, but this was extremely easy to make, and was a big hit with my roommate. I changed up a few things according to my personal tastes... I sauteed the onion first in a little bit of olive oil, and I added some Greek seasoning to the mixture (no idea what's in it, but it's got a great flavor). I also substitued one 2-cup package of shredded Italian cheeses (comes pre-packaged and includes parmesan, asiago, romano, and mozzarella) for the parmesan and jack cheeses. The only bit I had trouble with was the phyllo. The pies came out nicely browned and flaky, with no spillage of the spinach mixture, but it was a little too papery for me. I think next time I'll use puff pastry sheets or maybe even crescent roll dough like another user suggested. I'll also add a little garlic, as I'm a HUGE fan of garlic in just about everythign! Great recipe, though, I absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, but I felt it was too heavy with cheese and the onion was surprisingly powerful. I didn't think when I was adding onion that it was that much, but I think since it wasn't cooked first it dominated the flavor. This was the first time I used phyllo dough, so I wasn't expecting it to be perfect, and it wasn't. I rolled it up tightly, and scored it on top, but the contents still spilled out when it baked. Not pretty. up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States