Spinach Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Enjoyed this treat. BUT I made a mistake. I took the advice of others and added extra spinach - we love spinach so I doubled it. I will not do this again, as the cheese mixture tasted really good and the spinach over powered it. I will probably do recipe as written next time. Thank you ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was pretty good - it was a little bland for my taste, but the rest of my family loved it! My only issue was that the pastry cracked while baking and the filling spilled out, so be careful about that! otherwise it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was my first time using phylo dough so I need a LOT of practice! My 2 "rolls" deflated together into one "pie" looking thing. We cut it up like pizza, though, and it tasted FABULOUS! For my family, it only fed like 3 of us, though. It was that good! I will definitely make it again- maybe try adding ground beef and mushrooms. AND baking it in a pie pan! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I used eggbeaters and lowfat cottage cheese. I sprayed butter flavored cooking spray between the phyllo layers. My husband loved this. I also add a healthy does of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I make this all the time for family and friends. I've been making this since I was 12 and it's one of the most fun and simple recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a-cool-deal
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very good. I subtracted the cottage cheese and added crumbled feta cheese. I also added some fresh lemon juice to the mixture. At the end, I used croissant rolls instead. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEMSAIGON1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
my husband wanted spinach pies like his lebanese grandma used to make ... and although i will never reach that standard, this turned out great and buttery and SUPER easy using refrigerator biscuits -- although the filling mixture should be halved for 8 grands biscuits. i sauteed the onions and some minced garlic before adding them to the spinach/cheese mixture (husband said more onions next time), only used 1 cup of cheese (husband is fairly lactose intolerant), added some italian seasonings. got a can of flaky biscuits and separated them into halves. spooned mixture into center of one side, covered with the other, pressed down edges with fork. cut 3 slits in tops. cooked on 200 for 40 minutes which heated up the insides -- then followed biscuit baking directions (350 for 14-17 minutes) and finally broiled for a minute to get the tops brown. will be making again soon to use up the rest of the filling. thanks! UPDATE: used up rest of filling, this time made casserole-type dish. put half biscuits on bottom of greased glass dish (had to smush them around some to get it covered), topped with spinach mixture (with extra sauteed onions added), plopped rest of biscuits on top. cooked same amount of time. EVEN BETTER because 1. super easy and 2. MORE spinach-y. have already been requested again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I looked at the amount of cheese in the bowl and went out and bought another 10 oz package of spinach, doubling the green stuff and the onion. I also thought the recipe was vague about the quantity of phyllo dough (2 sheets?) I used a 1-lb package divided 4 ways (about 10 thin sheets per roll)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wytten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe, and I would definitely repeat. I marked it only four, because I also thought the cheese to spinach ratio was a bit too cheesy. I used almost double the spinach with the same amount of cheese and that worked out great for me. As one reviewer suggested, I tried using the crescent rolls instead of phyllo. It didn't work out at all to do the jelly roll; the dough just didn't stick together and the filling spilled out. With the second half of the filling, I put it in the bottom of a 9" pie pan and then covered the top with the crescent rolls. Loved the flavor and the ease. THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
My entire family loves this! I just made it for my grandmother's 90th birthday picnic, and they were gone. I do add garlic as per other reviewers, but they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bordentown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States