Spinach Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Here is the problem with spinach you eat it and you want it all. I just added red pepper flakes to make it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I added 3/4 c of feta cheese to this and it was fantastic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
YUM, this is definitely a keeper. I used just a single pie crust and it was plenty of crust. I used feta instead of ricotta and threw in some extra parmesan, plus a splash of milk to make it creamier... I also didn't have onions, but I added some onion salt as well as diced tomatoes, olives, and garlic. It turned out very tasty and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I make a lot of changes to attempt to lighten this recipe. I used 10 sheets of phyllo dough rather than pie crust. I simply sprayed with butter cooking spray and layering 5 sheets each for the top and bottom. I then decreasedt he opin and added 3 oz of reduced fat feta. My husband and I both really enjoyed it. Our 4 yo wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Eh...I made a crustless version. It was quick & easy, but not very flavourful. I sauteed 2 minced garlic cloves and added italian seasoning, cumin and pepper flakes to the cheese mixture. And still, it was just cheesy spinach. Not even quiche like (which was kind of what I was hoping for). Sorry, but not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
The first time I made a pie, and a party of three loved it. What did I learn about pie making? 1. "recipe pastry" just means the pastry you need for that receipe . 2. You need to roll out the pastry sheet, so do that early in the process. 3 You should oil the pastry tray first. 4 750g of cheese sounds like a lot - three tubs - but it was needed and two bunches of spinach is enormous in Australia - I just used one and that was like a mountain in the fry pan. Good lessons, great pie, more than half left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This was a hit! Thanks I don't know why but I put in two eggs instead of one, and it was great with feta! Great as a left over too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Very good recipe! I used puff pastry. I did not have ricotta and used feta instead and the result was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
A FABULOUS dish to have for vegetarian guests. Great with a glass of wine and good company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States