Spinach Pesto Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a good base recipe. I followed other reviewers suggestions. I added the following: 4T of pesto (instead of 2), 1 t minced garlic & 1 t white wine to the pesto mix. I layered in with the chicken: 1/2 a chopped onion, 1/2 a roasted pepper (chopped), mushrooms. Amazing!!!! Don't forget to sprinkle the chicken breasts with some salt and pepper. Next time I'm thinking I'll add some grilled asparagus (anything to get more veggies in our diet!) Thanks for the excellent starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bekbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
A little bland so I jazzed it up with some fresh chopped garlic and I let the chicken breasts marinate in the pesto-which I doubled overnight. A great base recipe for a busy working person
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was good, but just a little bland. I would recommend seasoning the chicken breasts with salt and pepper before placing on the spinach and pesto. I did use about double the recommended pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
OK, so this time I broke my own rule -- which is to always make the recipe as-is the first time through (how else are ya gonna' know, right?) I followed the other reviewers' suggestions, adding minced garlic, diced onions, and some fresh sliced mushrooms, along with lots more pesto & a little white wine. The results were great! My conclusion is that this is a great base recipe, and has lots of room for versitility. We will definitely keep this as a regular item on our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
What I like about this recipe is there are so few ingredients. I usually have to log onto my computer to pull up recipes but this one, I remembered right off hand! I used much more pesto then called for (or in my case 'to taste') and added a pinch of seasoned salt to the chicken. Instead of putting the ingredients on top, I split the chicken breasts in have and stuff them. Also added shredded mozzerella, mushrooms, and onions. We at with a side of mashed potatoes. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
5 stars with some small changes. After reading the reviews I added more pesto. I make a light pesto in the summer (less than half of the regular oil) and freeze it, used about 6 cubes. I also salt/pepper'd the chicken prior to putting it in the baking dish. Finally, I added some garlic and diced sun-dried tomatoes to the mixture. It came out so good my fiance complimented the recipe about 4 times while we were eating! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssteinberg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Excellent! I added some fresh minced garlic as was suggested and it was delicious! This'll be on the frequently made chicken recipes list for me! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
this was awesome. made exactly like recipe, except didn't measure. just eyeballed spinach. i'm gonna make lasagna with the leftovers. this is fancy enough for company. and sooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Hurley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Only things I changed to this recipe was pre-browning the chicken before adding to the baking dish as it was much for visually appealing having some color ... and I almost tripled the amount of pesto as my family loves pesto ... I have also made this recipe with boneless pork chops and its very nice too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Easy, delicious and fast. I was really tired when I searched for something to make for dinner. This recipe looked simple and I had the ingredients. Well, this is the 2nd time I've made it this week. It's a keeper. I basically made as written the first time and the 2nd time I added chopped garlic and then at the end, a bit of feta cheese on top. Both times I served it with jasmine rice. The next time I make it I will add pine nuts. It works well as written but also is fun to add variations. This is a great weeknight meal but I will serve this for company. One of my favorite recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States