Spinach Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I add garlic, onion, and parmesan cheese to the original ingredients, and I add two more eggs. With the changes, these are FANTASTIC! All of the picky vegetable-eaters in my home love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
For a little variation, I used fresh spinach and I sauted it in Italian dressing. After the pancakes were done, I topped it off with a squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
these were just "OK" - kind of bland (even with a thai chilli sauce for dipping) and not as crispy as i would've liked them to be. i used fresh spinach, which i steamed first before adding to the egg mixture. it's a good base, but it definitely needs to be played around with. will try again when i have leftover spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
A good, basic recipe, thanks! It requires so few ingredients that I decided to give it a try yesterday (I had almost nothing in my fridge!):) However I altered the recipe as such which, in my opinion, makes it 4 stars worth: 1 cup drained spinach mixed with 1 Tbsp mustard, 1 cup steamed & mashed potatoes, a bit of fresh parsley, a grating of nutmeg, 1/4 cup shredded cheese. Overwise I followed the directions ;) It was really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
I agree that this is a good "base" for spinach pancakes. I made some changes to this recipe, first I increased the eggs to 6 and increased the flour to 3/4 cup because when I mixed according to these directions, it seemed way too much spinach for the amount of eggs. I would definitely add cheddar the next time and maybe a few tablespoons of diced tomatoes. This was good fix for a fried craving, but I think it may have a better texture if it were baked. I was hoping that the thought and appearance of pancakes would persuade my picky 5 year old to try it, but I ended up mixing up a batch of real pancakes anyhow. I'll make this again, just with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Nice way to finish off leftover spinach... I added some cheddar cheese to the pancakes as they were cooking to make it slightly saltier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
These were very good. I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder, and served with Mom's Dill Sauce. A new and interesting way of serving spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
We thought this was a good BASE for spinach pancakes. They need more flavor. Maybe some garlic and another strong spice/flavor. We will definately try these again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I was really excited to try this recipe as I need more iron in my diet but I don't like spinach all that much. Well, I'd eat these spinach pancakes any day! Though I did make a couple of mistakes, accidentally leaving out one of the eggs and using baking powder. I wouldn't advise either of these changes as my patties were a bit too fat and never really got crispy, and my husband said they were too floury. I will try them again and update my rating then!Update:Well, I tried these again, this time following the recipe (except that I added a little grated parmesan!), and they were much better. They never really got crispy, maybe because I didn't flatten them enough, but I really liked them the way they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This was not bad - it won't convert spinach haters, but it's very easy, quick, and healthy to boot. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States