Spinach Mushroom and Ricotta Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is a great "basic" recipe and needs to be seasoned to taste. I chopped the mushrooms instead of using whole slices and added minced garlic, italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, sea salt, ground peppercorn, and shredded romano cheese. It turned out well and is a healthy altenative to the heavy cream in fettucine alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Would have been bland as written, but took the advice of several other reviewers and revved it up. Added garlic after sauteing the mushrooms, then oregano, kosher salt, and pepper. Used fresh spinach (a ton) and wilted it instead of frozen. Used about half the recommended amount of ricotta. After all this (really, not that much, I'd call it "season to taste"), it was tremendous. Probably one of the best recipes I've tried from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This recipie was bland until I put some herbs and mozzeralla in it. Now it is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This recipe is pretty bland. I added some shredded cheese, garlic, rosemary, italian spice, parsley and a couple of tablespoons of pesto sauce. Okay recpipe but VERY filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I'm not sure why other reviewers are so critical of this recipe. I added a chopped garlic clove to the mushroom, a generous grating of Parmesan, and found it delish. I would, however, say that any dish is best when you use fresh produce instead of frozen. Thanks for the great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
Very bland, needs a lot of help to make it tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
This recipe was pretty tasteless, I agree that it was the lemon that saved it... wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I found this recipe pretty tasteless. The lemon is really the only ingredient that gives it any flavour. Maybe it would be nicer if you added some pine nuts and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I modified this recipe a bit and found it to be pretty tasty. I used olive oil as well as butter and added garlic, onion, salt, pepper, and fresh basil with the mushrooms. I used fresh spinach (a little over a 6 oz bag) and a little less ricotta than is called for. I think it could have used juice from an extra 1/2 lemon. I will make this again. I think it's a nice recipe to experiment with and flavor as you will; I imagine it would be incredibly bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Good recipe. It was a little bland. Would recommend lots of fresh garlic. Overall, delicious & will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States