Spinach Mushroom and Ricotta Fettuccine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Terry
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I'm rating this 5 stars but only after doing a lot of work to it. I added fresh garlic and lots of seasonings including seasoned salt, garlic powder, and black pepper as it was very bland. I used 2 6oz cans of mushrooms and one can of spinach as I did not have the fresh ingredients available. I kept seasoning the ricotta until I got that right and then followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. It was really bland, and the lemon juice gave it a bit of a soured taste. I would suggest adding some herbs and perhaps some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I'm going to agree that the basic recipe is pretty bland. It's a good base to add to, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Gosh! Give this poor lady a break! Tryt saying something nice before being not so nice, eh? I thought this was a really great basic recipe. I added cream of chicken soup and a splash of milk. I only used half the ricotta and put it over chicken breasts instead of pasta. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
More lemon juice, basil, and possibly fresh spinach?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
After reading some horrible reviews, I made this anyway because I had everthing at hand to make it. I used fresh spinach, added a half cup of sour cream and roasted pine nuts. I used rotini instead of fettucine. It was good! Not colorful or pretty, but tasty! Kids wouldn't like it because it looks so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe if your not in the mood to cook dinner. All I have to do is mention making this again and I get a "let's eat out tonight" or a "order something to go and I'll pick it up on my way home"! Works like a charm every time! It was a waste of good ricotta the first time I made it(even the dog turned up his nose at it...) but well worth it in the long run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was the worst meal I've ever cooked (and I've had some doozies)! My kids literally spit it out on their plates and I couldn't even force my own plate down. It all went in the garbage...I feel bad that I wasted a perfectly good tub of ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is a great "basic" recipe and needs to be seasoned to taste. I chopped the mushrooms instead of using whole slices and added minced garlic, italian seasoning, red pepper flakes, sea salt, ground peppercorn, and shredded romano cheese. It turned out well and is a healthy altenative to the heavy cream in fettucine alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chel79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
ideas are good, it's just when you put them together, it tastes disgusting (even after adding garlic, other spices...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States