Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
YUM! I made a few modifications for my weight-watching self: half the butter, reduced fat crescent rolls, skim milk instead of half and half, 1 cup of egg beaters instead of the eggs. Baked for 45 minutes per other reviews - perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Used frozen deep dish 9-inch pie crust, thawed at room temp. Baking took 45 minutes. Next time, I will place crust with mixture on a preheated cookie sheet and bake like my other quiche recipes recommend. Otherwise, the outside pie crust edges browned very quickly. Easy to make. Used frozen 9-oz. spinach, thawed, cooked three minutes in microwave. Used pre-sliced mushrooms, since time was a factor for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
The best thing about this recipe is the simplicity of the crust - it comes out brown and looks great. I make it without the soup mix - I use some lemon juice, dill, and cilantro instead. I also find that using less cream (or milk instead) and using marble cheddar instead of monteray jack makes the consistency better and it cooks a little faster. Regardless, this never cooks in 30 minutes. It always takes longer. My family, including my "I hate quiche" husband LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I made this last weekend, used vegetable packet instead of he lemon soup, organic Monterey Jack. Loved the taste of the crescent crust, and my family wants more!! Pleased non-vegetarian and vegetarians. Love when I can do that :) Thanks Mindy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was really good. I used 2 packages of frozen spinach and that was too much, next time I will use only one package. I could not find the soup mix so I went without, next time I will add seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Gardiner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
FABULOUS! I made a few changes after reading past reviews: used a frozen pie crust instead of cresent rolls and I used one Knorr's Vegetable Soup packet instead of "herb and lemon" mix. The first time I made this it seemed a bit to salty for me. So, the next time I made it I withheld a bit of the veg. soup mix (maybe a teaspoon?) and it helped to mellow the salty flavor. Overall, I would give this recipe 10 stars for taste and ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This was an excellent recipe. I used hearty vegetable soup mix because I couldn't find the recommended kind. The quiche looked beautiful and my husband said it was one of the best he has ever tasted. This was my first quiche and it was very easy and delicious. Thank you for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Made exactly as recipe suggested and it was FABULOUS! Even the non-vegetarians loved it. Will definitely make again. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Delicious, and very easy for someone who had never made quiche. However, I did make some changes. Instead of herb and lemon mix, I used garlic and herb (that's what the store had). Instead of mushrooms, I used Roma tomatoes. Instead of half&half, I used 3/8 cup + 2 tbsp. of lactose-free milk and 1/2 tbsp. of margarine. I had an extra pie crust, so I just used it instead of crescent rolls. Instead of monterey jack, I used mozerrella as it is less dairy-potent for someone who is lactose intolerant (lower the fat content, the lower the lactose). My only complaint is that I had to cook the quiche for around 50 minutes instead of 30... could have been something with my oven, so it's a minor complaint. The end result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Three Stars! This is very good and pretty right out of the oven! I didn't have (or could buy) herb and lemon soup mix so I used a 1 oz. vegetable soup mix instead. Also, I used frozen spinach because I didn't have any fresh. If you use frozen spinach, remember to cook for three min. and drain. It was excellent. I can't think of one thing that would have made this any better. Thank you for such a wonderful way to prepare spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States