Spinach Muenster Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe, but I did make some changes. I used sliced Colby cheese instead of muenster, and a 16 oz. bag of frozen spinach (which was thawed in the frig.) instead of two 10 oz. boxes. The garlic powder was omitted, and 4 drops of Tabasco sauce used instead. I added 5 brown and serve "light" sausage that were heated up in the microwave first, and then chopped up. I also beat the cream cheese with an electric hand mixer to make it smooth, and beat the eggs in the same way. I layed it out as described in a 9 inch pie pan, stirring the spinach, sausage, parmesan and seasonings into the cream cheese mixture. Baking time was 30 minutes. It was just terrific like this and I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Im on a no carb diet and make this once a week! its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Low fat, low carbos'and lots of fiber, neat recipie (Around 8 slices is 142 calories a piece). I make all the recipes I review several times before I review them. My final master piece is this: I took 4 bags of organic fresh spinach (don't know the ounces, sorry. Just got the pre-packaged stuff.) Microwaved with some water for about 8 min. Then drained and sautéed to evaporate the water along with one clove of garlic. I like garlic but not for breakfast. Optional-I've added onion and mushrooms and sautéed them along with the spinach. Funny thing is the onion didn't make that much of a difference in taste so I've eliminated it. Then i add only 6 ounces of 1/3 fat cream cheese (I don't think it needs a whole stick) I also only use a 1/4 or less of Parmesan cheese. I don't like one flavor over powering a dish unless it is suppose to. I used 2 egg whites instead of whole eggs. Mix all the above. I lay 5 slices of Muenster or mozz on the bottom, pour in the spinach and don't top it with more cheese-- it doesn't need it. Bake as usual. I found it's sometimes salty so watch which Muenster cheese you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This recipe is now a staple in my house. EVERYONE I have served it to has RAVED about it. It looks beautiful and tastes fantastic. No one would guess that it's so simple to prepare. The only thing I've modified is that I cook the spinach in the microwave... i don't just thaw it. It makes it much easier to blend in the cheeses and egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
this recipe was great. Not the best thing to eat though if you're on a diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This is a real winner- well received by the whole family. Have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I made this recipe for my vegetarian daughter on Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I used about 4 ounces of fresh baby spinach torn up instead of frozen. I was able to cook this in a large toaster oven since there was no space in the regular oven. Really easy and the low carb count is a bonus. I will make this often. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This, along with AllRecipes' "Cream of Pumpkin Curry Soup" was a major hit at my Thanksgiving table. Now that I'm following Atkin's, it's even better. I used a little extra parmesan for flavor. I'm currently baking one with half spinach and half artichoke hearts, and bet it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Very nice! This is a great recipe to make up in advance for quick breakfasts during the week. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
Excellent recipe, especially for those of us looking for low carbs. Not exactly low fat, but worth the splurge. Made the recipe exactly and it turned out great. Even my husband, not a huge quiche fan, really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States