Spinach Muenster Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
Low fat, low carbos'and lots of fiber, neat recipie (Around 8 slices is 142 calories a piece). I make all the recipes I review several times before I review them. My final master piece is this: I took 4 bags of organic fresh spinach (don't know the ounces, sorry. Just got the pre-packaged stuff.) Microwaved with some water for about 8 min. Then drained and sautéed to evaporate the water along with one clove of garlic. I like garlic but not for breakfast. Optional-I've added onion and mushrooms and sautéed them along with the spinach. Funny thing is the onion didn't make that much of a difference in taste so I've eliminated it. Then i add only 6 ounces of 1/3 fat cream cheese (I don't think it needs a whole stick) I also only use a 1/4 or less of Parmesan cheese. I don't like one flavor over powering a dish unless it is suppose to. I used 2 egg whites instead of whole eggs. Mix all the above. I lay 5 slices of Muenster or mozz on the bottom, pour in the spinach and don't top it with more cheese-- it doesn't need it. Bake as usual. I found it's sometimes salty so watch which Muenster cheese you add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is a favorite recipe at class cafe. We only use 1 pkg. spinach and we use 2 cups shredded mozzarella mixed with a heaping Tb. of flour and pressed into a pie plate for the crust. We also like to make mini quiche in a cupcake pan. I am not a fan of spinach as a rule, but this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This is a great recipe, but I did make some changes. I used sliced Colby cheese instead of muenster, and a 16 oz. bag of frozen spinach (which was thawed in the frig.) instead of two 10 oz. boxes. The garlic powder was omitted, and 4 drops of Tabasco sauce used instead. I added 5 brown and serve "light" sausage that were heated up in the microwave first, and then chopped up. I also beat the cream cheese with an electric hand mixer to make it smooth, and beat the eggs in the same way. I layed it out as described in a 9 inch pie pan, stirring the spinach, sausage, parmesan and seasonings into the cream cheese mixture. Baking time was 30 minutes. It was just terrific like this and I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This got rave reviews when I made it for a mother's day brunch. I reduced the spinach by a box and reduced the cream cheese to 6 oz. I know I used a good bit less than the 12 oz of muenster the recipe called for as well. I would use more eggs next time to make it more "quiche" like. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I thought this was awsome! So easy to make and even better because there is no crust. I did use shreaded mexican blend cheese for the 'crust'. Also sauted fresh spinach in garlic and added 2 turkey sausage I took out of the casing. I will be making this over and over. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
This was such a wonderful dish - I made it the night before, then early the next morning just popped it into the microwave to reheat. It was fabulous! I think I might choose a more robust cheese next time, like a sharp cheddar, but the recipe is also just soooo good the way is. And what better way to eat spinach? Kelli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This recipe is now a staple in my house. EVERYONE I have served it to has RAVED about it. It looks beautiful and tastes fantastic. No one would guess that it's so simple to prepare. The only thing I've modified is that I cook the spinach in the microwave... i don't just thaw it. It makes it much easier to blend in the cheeses and egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Im on a no carb diet and make this once a week! its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a hit! I cut down the Munester cheese by about half. Next time, I think I'll leave it off the bottom too. I am looking at a lot of low-carb recipes because my mom needs low-carbs, but I am a vegetarian who is somewhat lactose-intolerant so we are having trouble finding things that works for both of us and pleases the picky males in the house. This one was a hit! I got compliments from everyone in the family. Will definitely be making again, and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
We tried this recipe for Mother's Day, and while it was not bad, it didn't taste at all like quiche. It had an overwhelming cream cheese taste. Using cheese as a crust is a great idea though and we'll try that with another quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States