Spinach Marie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a good recipe. But honestly, I find all the different steps tedious and unnecessary. Just make a roux with the butter and flour, then add the milk and let thicken, then add the onion and cheese and lastly the spinach. Then pour into a casserole. It just seemed more time consuming than it should have been and it turned out to be just like other creamed spinach recipes I've made before. The taste is good (whoa is there a lot of cheese!) though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
This was fun to make and all I added to it was 1/2 cup of cracker crumbs with the cheese.I let it set up for 10 mins out of the oven and it was a big hit with my picky family....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This recipe is now a staple in our house when company comes over. I serve it ramekins and it makes a nice presentation with steak or pork tenderloin. Definitely a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Easter and it was the hit of the table. I used all the ingredients listed but I changed the way I prepared it. I prepared it using only one pan on the top of the stove. I used the 1 tbls. of butter and sauted the onions until browned then I added the 3 tbls. additional butter to the same pan and after it melted I added the flour and blended until a smooth paste formed. After that I added cold milk, the dry mustard and garlic salt. When the mixture thickened I added the cheddar cheese. I stirred the cheese and mixture until the cheese was melted and then added the spinach. Combined it all and then put in into the casserole dish and topped it with the Montery Jack cheese. Popped it in the oven and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is good for a vegetable side, but even better as an appetizer! I used smoked cheddar and topped with a shredded Mexican blend. Next time I will add tabasco when I prepare it. Also, chopped artichoke hearts would be really good in this! I'll do that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This is so good! I did add my own touch by adding crumbled bacon. I didn't add salt, the bacon had enough in it. Thank you for the nice casserole idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
My 5 year old gobbled this stuff up, she asked me what the green stuff was I told her spices. Later on I told her what it really was after she'd had 2 helpings!!Was Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I think as the recipe stands, it's not a "perfect" recipe - I altered it a bit by not using quite as much Jack cheese on top and adding chopped garlic with the onions and some extra spice ! It turned out delicious, and I'll probably make it again and alter it to what "feels" good at the time ! The consistency was "spoon out" and not cut and serve as I anticipated ! My husband loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This recipe was excellent! It was easy to make. The only change I made was substituting onion powder for the chopped onions. My relatives loved it so much that I only got to eat a few spoonfuls! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made this for Christmas Day dinner and my husband and family really liked it. In fact, he wants me to make it again when we have Christmas with his daughter and her family this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States