Spinach Marie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I love spinach and this was great. I added 2 small eggs and decreased the milk to 2 cups as well as the butter/margarine to only 3 tablespoons. I also used shredded cheddar instead of the cubed. I deleted the onion, mixed all the ingredients together in a large bowl; heated the milk, butter/margarine, and cheese which made a cheese sauce and poured in over the spinach. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Absolutely fantastic flavor! Thank you for this recipe sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a good recipe. But honestly, I find all the different steps tedious and unnecessary. Just make a roux with the butter and flour, then add the milk and let thicken, then add the onion and cheese and lastly the spinach. Then pour into a casserole. It just seemed more time consuming than it should have been and it turned out to be just like other creamed spinach recipes I've made before. The taste is good (whoa is there a lot of cheese!) though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I love this recipe, they have it on the menu at our favorite B.B.Q. house. I do add cubes toast pieces to the cheese topping. If you try this recipe you will really like it, even if you don't like spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PascoTracy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
YUM! Easy and a lovely side dish for this spinach loving family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Best spinach recipe ever. That being said, I did make a few substitutes: sea salt and minced fresh garlic in place of garlic salt; 1 full teaspoon dry mustard instead of 1/2; crumbled feta cheese in place of the Monterey jack; and I topped the casserole with a thin layer of buttered crumbs. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I really really wanted to like this recipe, but it wasn't very good. I will try it again, but this time double the sauce and triple the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
awesome, my kids ate it all! Will be a regular addition at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I think I was hoping for more from this recipe. After all of the preparation it took, ultimately, it tasted like any other creamed spinach to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I think as the recipe stands, it's not a "perfect" recipe - I altered it a bit by not using quite as much Jack cheese on top and adding chopped garlic with the onions and some extra spice ! It turned out delicious, and I'll probably make it again and alter it to what "feels" good at the time ! The consistency was "spoon out" and not cut and serve as I anticipated ! My husband loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States