Spinach Marie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Best spinach recipe ever. That being said, I did make a few substitutes: sea salt and minced fresh garlic in place of garlic salt; 1 full teaspoon dry mustard instead of 1/2; crumbled feta cheese in place of the Monterey jack; and I topped the casserole with a thin layer of buttered crumbs. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I really really wanted to like this recipe, but it wasn't very good. I will try it again, but this time double the sauce and triple the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
awesome, my kids ate it all! Will be a regular addition at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I think I was hoping for more from this recipe. After all of the preparation it took, ultimately, it tasted like any other creamed spinach to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I think as the recipe stands, it's not a "perfect" recipe - I altered it a bit by not using quite as much Jack cheese on top and adding chopped garlic with the onions and some extra spice ! It turned out delicious, and I'll probably make it again and alter it to what "feels" good at the time ! The consistency was "spoon out" and not cut and serve as I anticipated ! My husband loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Tried this last night. Unfotrtunately, no one in my house liked it--tasted too much like spinach. Maybe I did something wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
This is good for a vegetable side, but even better as an appetizer! I used smoked cheddar and topped with a shredded Mexican blend. Next time I will add tabasco when I prepare it. Also, chopped artichoke hearts would be really good in this! I'll do that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This basic recipe goes by another name in my boyfriend's family, from Louisiana - they call their version Spinach Madeleine. It is really good but rich, and can be very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Emily
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I made this dish for an office pitch-in. It was solidly good, and I felt good about making it from scratch without any highly processed ingredients. I like my food a little more interesting, though, so next time, I will add something to give a little more zip - some more garlic salt and some hot sauce, probably - but I did have someone ask for the recipe, so it went over pretty well as is. I did make it straight from the recipe this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States