Spinach Marie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
very good!! I used heavy cream in place of the milk because we didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made it for Easter and it was the hit of the table. I used all the ingredients listed but I changed the way I prepared it. I prepared it using only one pan on the top of the stove. I used the 1 tbls. of butter and sauted the onions until browned then I added the 3 tbls. additional butter to the same pan and after it melted I added the flour and blended until a smooth paste formed. After that I added cold milk, the dry mustard and garlic salt. When the mixture thickened I added the cheddar cheese. I stirred the cheese and mixture until the cheese was melted and then added the spinach. Combined it all and then put in into the casserole dish and topped it with the Montery Jack cheese. Popped it in the oven and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Needs more seasoning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorig23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was very good. My only experience with Spinach Marie is from Old Country Buffet. Like everything else at OCB it was tasteless, but this recipe has renewed my faith in this dish, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I love spinach and this was great. I added 2 small eggs and decreased the milk to 2 cups as well as the butter/margarine to only 3 tablespoons. I also used shredded cheddar instead of the cubed. I deleted the onion, mixed all the ingredients together in a large bowl; heated the milk, butter/margarine, and cheese which made a cheese sauce and poured in over the spinach. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Absolutely fantastic flavor! Thank you for this recipe sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arleta, California, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This is a good recipe. But honestly, I find all the different steps tedious and unnecessary. Just make a roux with the butter and flour, then add the milk and let thicken, then add the onion and cheese and lastly the spinach. Then pour into a casserole. It just seemed more time consuming than it should have been and it turned out to be just like other creamed spinach recipes I've made before. The taste is good (whoa is there a lot of cheese!) though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I love this recipe, they have it on the menu at our favorite B.B.Q. house. I do add cubes toast pieces to the cheese topping. If you try this recipe you will really like it, even if you don't like spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PascoTracy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
YUM! Easy and a lovely side dish for this spinach loving family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States