Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe and easy to make. I didn't have spinach on hand but had some kale. Worked really good. Be sure to add the kale with the other vegetables as it needs to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was absolutely delicious! I will definetly be making this again! I liked how it wasn't too spicy and it was just right! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. My son & husband loved it. Very hearty and filling. Luckily I had just enough for myself for lunch the next day. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Rock, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I thought this was just okay; a little too bland for me. I even added fresh garlic, salt, black pepper and saffron. I think it could have used more carrots and rice, too. If I make it again I will definitely add more flavor and use all vegetable or chicken stock instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
As a college student I don't have much time to cook for myself. This is a really good soup to last for the week and warm up after a night of studying. Great alternative to kielbasa is a can of mixed beans and celery to keep it cheap and make you full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Well, made the way the recipe calls for is good. BUT, the second time I made it I made a few changes which made it better: 1. DO NOT ADD SALT BEFORE THE LENTILS ARE COOKED - it toughens them, and do not overcook them. 25 min. is the max. 2. Be sure and chop the spinach so you can get it on your spoon without it dangling off. 3. Double the amount of broth to make it "soup" and maybe use just chix. broth as no water is needed. 4. Lots more Kielbasa in bigish chunks, not chopped. They are the best part. 5. Saute onions and some garlic on low heat for a while, then add sausage and veggies (in chunks again) and saute, then add everything else (including raw rice) and simmer 25 min. 6. I did use other's suggestions re adding a good amount of cumin, leeks and celery. Quartered mushrooms added at the end with the spinach. Oh, and it needs salt! 7. Finally, I took half of the soup, minus the sausage, and pureed it well in the blender and added it back to the pot to make it kinda thicker, like regular lentil or split pea soup, but because I only pureed half the soup in the blender then added it back to the "thinner" soup, it still stayed "soupy" unstead of "stewy". Yum. French bread and a fresh salad. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I did add some sour cream and thicken the soup. I like my soups a bit creamier. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weenandthemollusk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
After following the recipe, I found it a little tasteless. I decided to omit the rice. I added fresh garlic, chopped red pepper, lemon thyme, bay leaves, cumin and mushrooms. It just needs to be tweaked to your individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The soup was easy to make but ended up looking more like a 'hot dish' and not soup. I added more stock, topped each bowl with a few drops of olive oil and parm. Even with that extra punch it was a tad bland....like hot dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Read the reviews on this soup and made a few changes. Used brown rice instead of white. Also used the package of turkey kielbasa. I added 3 cloves garlic and a whloe onion and 2 stalks celery to the saute. When I added the lentils and water I also added about 1/2 a bag of frozen okra, aabout a tablespoon of cumin, maybe 1/2 teaspoon fennel, and 2 bay leaves. The soup is absolutely delicious. Not at all bland with the extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States