Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I made it exactly as written and it was very bland. Salt helped and I also tried a squeeze of lemon, but still thought it needed another dimension. As written, it was not "hearty" but more of a light spinach soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BisBatt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I loved this! But my husband didn't quite love it, but he's not a fan of lentils - I've been searching for a recipe he'd be ok with so we can have them more often - and he did like this the best so far for a lentil recipe. I used 1/2 the lentils and used more rice (brown basmati) but other than that I followed the recipe and it really is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
If you substitute some thinly sliced pan-seared pork loin for the kielbasa then this recipe is a great "gluten-free" one for those that have Celiac Disease. Very flavorful! Before cooking the pork I seasoned it with salt and pepper and just a bit of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Didn't not stray too much from original recipe. Had more flavor than anticipated. Added garlic powder, frozen spinach and used brown rice. Next time I will at least double the carrots. May also add celery. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I think if you like lentils it might be good. I personally didn't like it. Easy enough recipe. My husband liked it. I like things with a little more flavor but I also cut out some of the red pepper flakes because I have small kids and didn't want it to be spicy. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was a good soup. I doubled the recipe and used the whole pound of kielbasa. Next time I think I'll try regular Italian sausage. I also used mostly broth instead of all the water the recipe called for, and also used brown rice which I cooked right in the pot. (Added a little extra water to compensate.) Seems like the addition of a can of tomatoes would be nice. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wow. If I was stuck on an island, and I could only have one meal, this would be it! Everyone in our family stuffed themselves, having 2 and 3 bowls because they could not stop eating this!! I used all chicken broth, no water, and high test chicken broth, not the low sodium kind (we like salt!). I took the advice of others and added uncooked rice directly to the pot. I doubled the rice to 2/3 cup (we like rice!) and added an extra cup of chicken broth to make up for the liquid absorbed by the rice. With the exception of those changes, I kept to the recipe. This was amazing! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This did not do a thing for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This soup is awesome. I will never tire of this one. Easy to make, very healthy, filling and incredibly delicious. No salt goes in the recipe and surprisingly doesn't need it. a keeper for a lifetime. THANK YOU! for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States