Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Well, as written this recipe was a tad bland, as others said. So I added mushrooms, extra carrots, shallots, fresh pressed garlic, Sriarcha, etc. I ended up making it too spicy, but it just kept lacking flavor. The good news, is this is healthy! If I make it again, I will keep tweaking until it is perfect, though. There is definitely something lacking. Fun to experiment, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This soup is SO good. I used tips from other reviewers and cooked the rice with the lentils and used equal parts of water and chicken broth. I added a little garlic and omitted the carrot as I didn't have any. Also added asparagus in the last 5 minutes. My boyfriend loved it as well. I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I followed most of the suggestions other reviewers made-I flipped the amounts of water and chicken stock, added brown rice with the lentils, and added garlic with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Prefer 15 minutes lentil soup recipe. Rice isn't needed, like addition of turkey sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
WOW!!!! I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe! I cooked it last night for my family and although my kids wouldn't touch it because it 'looked gross' my fiancee and i had to go back for seconds. I did make a few adjustments. I added 1 cup of rice instead of 1/3 cup, switched the amount of water and broth using 6 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water and added 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of curry and ommitted the onions and peppers (but ONLY because i didn't have any). This is now one of my new favorite dishes and i can't wait for lunch to eat it again! YUM!!! This is a great recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I would say this was very bland and lacked flavor. The lentils needed longer to cook than the recommended time. After adding some garlic powder and a heavy sprinkle of parmesan cheese, it was much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was soooo good and so easy to make. The only thing is that I needed more than 25 minutes for the lentils to be soft and I added barley that I had on hand as well. The recipe is easy to make and very cheap, will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
YUMMY!!! I read the reviews before making this dish and switched the broth/water ratio and added garlic and cumin as was suggested by others. I used fresh ground chorizo instead of kielbasa, which added a bit of 'ooomph', basmati rice added with the lentils, and simmered it for much longer than 25 minutes. A huge hit for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Awesome soup! I followed the advise of other cooks and added a higher proportion of chicken stock, used brown rice, cooked for 50 minutes, and left the veges out until the last 10 minutes. Also, I added sriracha sauce for a kick. I will be making this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I added garlic and doubled the amount of sausage. I also used brown rice and added it with the lentils. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States