Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is delicious!! Love it! I made a double batch plus added extra broth & kielbasa. My freezer is packed!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Slightly bland at first. Much better if made the night before so the flavors can mingle overnight. Much better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good soup for a cold winter day. Tasty. I followed other suggestions and placed rice in with the lentils. I left out the crushed red pepper flakes, my family doesn't like things too spicy. I also simmered the soup longer than the 25-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Made this twice now and tweak it to fit in an oval crock pot by doubling the ingredients. Use brown rice as others have suggested, less water and more broth. (even have used boullion cubes in a pinch with water) I saute the veggies, kielbasa and add it into the crock with the rest of the ingredients, let it roll on high 2 hours or so, and then low for another 5 hours or so. I also add to the spices a whole lot--it needs salt! I used dried basil, garlic powder, rosemary/garlic/pepper blend, a greek seasoning--you name it. Have added mushrooms also, it's open to a lot of combos of veggies. The kale idea is great, will be trying that next time. Love being able to come home to dinner and this is a great healthy recipe and will use it often. Thank you for highlighting one of my favorite legumes! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Wonderful, filling soup. Used a crockpot that could double on the stovetop to saute meat with onion, carrots, celery, & spices, then put it onto it's hotplate. Doing this made for wonderful flavor of the cooked meat and veggies staying in the pot, so no loss of flavor. Added 12 cups homemade chicken broth , no water, for a richer taste. Glad I used this much broth since the lentils and brown rice absorbed a lot of liquid. Added 1/2 a butternut squash for maximum vitamins during the last hour of cooking in the crockpot. Didn't have fresh spinach so used frozen. The leftovers are terrific and but needed some more liquid so in went a can of broth. Served with homemade onion bread. Will definitely make this again. Very easy and all ingredients were on hand. This is always a plus for working women. A crockpot and pressure cooker are life savers for nutritious meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I was going to make as stated but had to make changes so suit our family's preferences. Omitted red pepper flakes, used half chicken broth and half water, used a cup of white rice as well and 1/2 cup red lentils and a 1/2 cup regular (green) lentils, and used 1 chicken breast cooked and shredded instead of kielbasa, and at the last minute due to a starving toddler I had to omit the spinach. That being said, it turned out great even with no added salt or pepper. Toddler son ate every bite and husband went back for seconds. I used 1 cup rice after reading another reviewer did so since it was too soupy. It was perfect for a 3 year old to eat without making a mess this way. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
It was good. Instead of turkey kielbasa I used boneless chicken breast. I just chopped the chicken in squares then cooked it till brown on all sides and til I saw no pink. Next time I will cut down on the water and will keep the 2 cups of broth the same because it was way too watery for lentil soup. I also added a little bit a sea salt and pepper.. The pepper flakes made it way too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very good and satisfying soup. A 5 star with the following adjustments. If you don't want to cook rice separately, throw in with lentils; brown rice is healthier choice, but needs longer cooking time, and soup taste better when simmered longer anyway. (Remember to use enough liquid for the rice to absorb.) Double the sausage, add 1 can diced tomatoes, switch amounts of water and chicken stock, correct with salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Don't forget the hot crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Very nice. Took reviewers suggestions and added some cumin along with chili powder, garlic salt, and pepper. I also took out roughly two cups of the water and added 1 cup butter milk and 1.5 cups heavy cream. the creamy consistency pushed this into the "comfort food". My husband said, "You need to keep this recipe."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States