Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was pretty good. No changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
We added cumin and garlic per other reviewers suggestions. Also added whatever leftover fresh veggies we had in the fridge: celery, zucchini, bell peppers. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
So good!! After reading the reviews, I made a few changes. First, I add the 2/3 cup of water and uncooked rice to the pot along with the lentils and the rest of the liquids. Second, I switch the quantities of broth and water, using 2 cups of water and 6 cups of broth. Third, I throw in 2-3 chopped cloves of garlic and a couple extra ounces of kielbasa. I know the thought of lentils and spinach would make a lot of people gag, but this is not an earthy, healthy tasting soup. It's packed with flavor and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Yummy, hearty, healthy, easy, and inexpensive! This is a new staple meal at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Added a few things...I used chicken broth instead of water, added green pepper, garlic,cumin,basil, parsly, a bay leaf and used polish lite kielbasa X3 so I added a cup of rice bec I put more Kielbasa. Also Dont forget to put parmesam cheese on top it really brings it together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. I did make one small change instead of water I used chicken brooth to give it a little more flavor. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We really liked the soup but I did need to add a chicken bouillon for more flavor. Next time I will probably use all chicken stock and no water. Overall a keeper with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Good, but I like it better with some changes I made: I used 6 c. low-sodium broth + 1.75 c. water + 1/4 c. sherry. Added 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and used brown rice instead of white. Added the raw brown rice with the lentils and pureed about 1 c. of soup to thicken before adding spinach. Also used kale in place of the spinach, because I had it on hand to use up. Awesome with crusty french bread and a salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this but not so much the kids. They'll eventually learn what is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I took the concept but added a few things and changed a few things. Cooked 1 cup of rice separately and after cooking sauted rice in garlic and olive oil. I fried Keilbasa with onion and garlic added cumin, chili powder salt and pepper then combined carrots and rice then added 1 cup of lentils and 5 cups of chicken broth (no water). Last three minutes of cooking I added the spinach. Healthy, attractive looking hearty and tasty soup, thanks for the contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States