Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Terrific! I made this for my husbands lunch and had some myself. It was terrific. I had scaled it for 4 and I am sorry I did, I wanted more and I don't eat meat! Can't wait for my husbands opinion. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEPRICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tuckerton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
We loved this soup! I replaced the chicken broth and water with chicken boullion cubes, used brown rice and red lentils cause it was all I had on hand, but turned out great! The red pepper flakes spices it up just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I loved this recipe. Easy to pull together, good taste and healthy. I added just a little fresh grated parmesan cheese when serving. Have made it twice and will add it to my inventory. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Very tasty. I didn't understand the rationale behind cooking the rice separately, so I just added it with the lentils. Also, I reversed the amount of broth and water. Hearty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Made this last weekend and it was a great success. Glad to have found such a great recipe using lentils and spinach. This will definately be a keeper and will become a regular at our house. I did substitute quick brown rice and added it at the end with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil. This was too spicy for us, & I only used 1/4 tsp. crushed red peper flakes. Even after adding extra chicken broth to dilute it, it still was pretty spicy. If you like your food spicy, you'll probably like this. If not & you want to give it a try, I'd suggest 1st reducing the amount of crushed red pepper & kielbasi & then adding more, if needed, according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe. I love fresh garlic so I added that… I also used brown rice (added @ the same time as lentils) and frozen spinach. I only had one problem, but it was totally my fault. I thought I could save time and just throw everything into the crock pot… the first couple bowls were awesome, but by time I got to the end, all of the flavor from the kielbasa had leached into the broth, leaving the meat flavorless and chewy. (I just picked the pieces out). So if you use the crock pot I wouldn’t leave the soup in it for reheats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My family really enjoyed this one. I did make one alteration though. I switched the amounts of chicken broth and water (6 cups chicken broth - 2 cups water). And for next time I think I will be adding a bit of garlic (as that should go in EVERYTHING)...and will cut the pepper flakes in half. It wasn't that spicy if you only had one bowl - the second one had our noses running away. It was wonderful with some buttered peasant bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was just a little bland for me, although it's most likely because I omitted the sausage as I didn't have any. I had planned on using a ham bone instead, but the one I had in the fridge went bad. I used 4 cups of broth and 4 of water to try to up the flavor, and added a little bit of liquid smoke to the final product. I think I'll try a few other lentil recipes before I settle on this one, although I do like this one because of it's use of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delish!!!!! I made this for 2 other families and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States