Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Fantastic recipe. I did like the others suggested and switched the water and broth amounts. I also added garlic. I didn't have kielbasa so I added diced hot Italian sausage and didn't add the red pepper. This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
mmmm.... so yummy, I used brown rice instead of white,added garlic, and I browned the turkey and then just added all of the ingredients... MUCH faster that way! Next time I'm going to add mushrooms...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Use 4 c water, 4 c broth, Italian chix sausage (8-10 oz), "Bean Cuisine Lots of Lentil mix", Cook the rice in w/the soup rather than seperarely, add chopped carrots, celery, garlic, and leeks adn sub kale for spinach. Use brown rice and add cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This recipe sounded so good, but was very bland. I am sure additional salt would have livened it up, but I didn't want to turn it into a high-sodium dish. I didn't even keep the leftovers. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This soup was very good, it makes a lot! I'd guess it was around 12 cups. The only change I made was to use 14oz kielbasa (so the whole package) instead of just 4. I cut it into half moons. I don't think it was too much kielbasa, just not as healthy as it would have been with less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gina
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Very hearty and healthy! I was concerned about the seasoning flavor but the kielbasa and broth had just the right amount of salt to flavor the whole dish. I used a whole package of kielbasa, 4 oz. was not enough. Also used brown rice and just threw that in with everything else instead of cooking it separately. Turned out fine that way. Tastes even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This really is SPINACH lentil soup. I love spinach and I love lentils but I found the spinach to be so overpowering that it ruined the dish. IF I decided to make this again I would use half the amount of spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very good soup! I used chicken bouillon (about 5 cubes), chopped celery and olive oil. I also also added some kosher salt and black pepper to the pot. The soup is great with french bread and butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fantastic! Like many other reviewers before me I tweaked the recipe a bit, after all soup recipes are the funnest to tweak right?! I used 4 cups of chicken stock and 4 cups of water to give it more flavor, 4 oz of all natural italian chicken sausage instead of turkey kielbasa, 1/2 the bag of spinach only because my husband is not a spinach fan, and the lentils I happened to find when shopping were in an all natural lentil soup mix that included spices (Bean Cuisine Lots of Lentil Soup) which contained 2 cups of lentils so I halved it and stored the other cup for another batch of soup. Because the chicken sausage and lentil soup mix were both seasoned I omitted the crushed red pepper flakes. Also like other reviewers before me I cooked the rice in the soup instead of by itself. Right out of the pan this had so much flavor, which of course means that tomorrow it will be even better. Thank you for a great lentil soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Even my boyfriend who doesn't like spinach loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States