Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
We added cumin and garlic per other reviewers suggestions. Also added whatever leftover fresh veggies we had in the fridge: celery, zucchini, bell peppers. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
So good!! After reading the reviews, I made a few changes. First, I add the 2/3 cup of water and uncooked rice to the pot along with the lentils and the rest of the liquids. Second, I switch the quantities of broth and water, using 2 cups of water and 6 cups of broth. Third, I throw in 2-3 chopped cloves of garlic and a couple extra ounces of kielbasa. I know the thought of lentils and spinach would make a lot of people gag, but this is not an earthy, healthy tasting soup. It's packed with flavor and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Yummy, hearty, healthy, easy, and inexpensive! This is a new staple meal at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Added a few things...I used chicken broth instead of water, added green pepper, garlic,cumin,basil, parsly, a bay leaf and used polish lite kielbasa X3 so I added a cup of rice bec I put more Kielbasa. Also Dont forget to put parmesam cheese on top it really brings it together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was absolutely wonderful. I did make one small change instead of water I used chicken brooth to give it a little more flavor. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
We really liked the soup but I did need to add a chicken bouillon for more flavor. Next time I will probably use all chicken stock and no water. Overall a keeper with the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Good, but I like it better with some changes I made: I used 6 c. low-sodium broth + 1.75 c. water + 1/4 c. sherry. Added 1/2 tsp. garlic powder and used brown rice instead of white. Added the raw brown rice with the lentils and pureed about 1 c. of soup to thicken before adding spinach. Also used kale in place of the spinach, because I had it on hand to use up. Awesome with crusty french bread and a salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
My husband and I enjoyed this but not so much the kids. They'll eventually learn what is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I took the concept but added a few things and changed a few things. Cooked 1 cup of rice separately and after cooking sauted rice in garlic and olive oil. I fried Keilbasa with onion and garlic added cumin, chili powder salt and pepper then combined carrots and rice then added 1 cup of lentils and 5 cups of chicken broth (no water). Last three minutes of cooking I added the spinach. Healthy, attractive looking hearty and tasty soup, thanks for the contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States