Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was very good. I did use all chicken broth instead of the water. And I used baby spinach so I was lazy and didn't tear it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Excellent! Great base flavour and great nutrition, but it did need some serious seasoning. I used about 1.5-2tsp of salt, a bay leaf, and 1/8 tsps each of cumin and turmeric. Like the other reviews recommended, I switched the stock-water quantities. I also used an entire half link of the kielbasa to treat myself after a good workout :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Like other reviewers, I used 6 cups of low sodium chicken broth and 2 cups water. I couldn't find turkey kielbasa in my grocery store, so I used an all-natural roasted garlic chicken sausage. It was SO GOOD! I ate the entire recipe in two days, alone. The only change I will make next time is to double the amount of red pepper flakes. I found the soup quite mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Fabulous. Used skinless turkey keilbasa, made it easier to eat, harder for teenager to turn nose up! Switched stock/water values. Will use more keilbasa next time (and double/triple!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEEJA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carroll, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I loved this soup. I used cooked lentils and left out a cup of water. I also added a little Parmesan cheese when I served it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My family loved this!! I took tips from other reviewers and used 6 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water, used 8 oz of kielbasa instead of 4 oz, added 3 cloves minced garlic to onion/carrot, and threw brown rice in along with the lentils (it cooked just fine...no need to cook seperate). Will make again, and again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very delicious. I've never had lentils before and this was a great way to try them for the first time. The soup keeps well as well, as it kept for me in the fridge for a week. The only problem I had with it was that the flavors weren't as strong as I would have liked them to be so I had to experiment with it until it was perfect. Other than that, great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bright, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This was extremely good. I used beef kielbasa and brown rice. For the liquids added 4 cups chicken broth and 2 cups water. Any more would have been too watery. As I made it, this soup is a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Just made this for lunch. It was awesome! I used smoked beef sausage and not as much pepper flakes. Hubby liked it too. Next time I'll probably add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
GREAT soup! I used chicken broth instead of water and didn't really measure it. I just add what I need as I go. I also used 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper instead of the red pepper flakes. I would have used more if our kids weren't eating it. Everyone LOVED it! (even 6, 4 and 2 year old!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

Displaying results 131-140 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States