Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
First time to do rice/lentil combo and it was great! Kids had a hard time getting past the appearance, but taste was awesome. Used 16oz. turkey sausage and added one celery stalk, bay leaves, 1/2 onion and garlic. Very wholesome and quick. Also cooked rice w/ lentils, very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was a very good base recipe. I followed it exactly and found it to be a little bland, so I added 1 tsp. of salt, which did improve the flavor. Next time, I'll reverse the amounts of broth and water as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This is a winner in my home. I used brown rice instead of white, halved the red peppers for the kids taste and reversed the broth and water amounts as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oroville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I can't see this recipe being 5 stars 'as is' but with a few alterations my family loved it. 1. Reverse the water and broth ratio or simply use nothing but lower sodium broth. 2. Add more kielbasa. I used almost a whole 16oz sausage that may be a bit much but I can see around 8oz being perfect. 3. I used about half the spinach in the recipe, any more and to me the spinach will overwhelm the soup. 4. Skip cooking the rice separate just add it with the lentils. It is not my intention to butcher the original recipe. Just that soup recipes are always flexible and I believe a few simple changes improves and simplify the fine recipe. Also, do not let the unappealing photo discourage you, it tastes much better that that photo looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Hubby says "It's a keeper!" This soup was delish! I did not have the problem of it being too thick as others stated. I used all chicken broth, sauteed some celery and garlic with the onions and carrots, added a bay leaf. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was great!! My husband had three bowls! I did not have Kielbasa so I used smoked sausage. This is a very hearty, tasty soup that goes great with warm crusty bread. I did reverse the water/stock amount and added fresh garlic. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very yummy! I soaked the lentils in water for a few hours. It cut the cooking time in half! Used all broth as suggested by others. Also used basmati rice and baby spinach. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
There is no reason to pre-ccok the rice, and use brown rice instead. Much healthier. Just make sure if they aren't the pre-cooked kind that you allow enough time for it to cook completely. Needs salt and some other seasonings to bring the flavor level up. Use all chicken broth or vegetable broth instead of water. The flavor will be enriched. I like thick soups instead of watery, so adjust broth to how you prefer your soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight, substituting Italian veggie sausage for the kielbasa and veggie broth instead of chicken (we're vegetarians) and this turned out fantastic. It's so rare that I can find a meaty recipe and can convert it but keep it relatively the same. My husband LOVED it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was very good. I did use all chicken broth instead of the water. And I used baby spinach so I was lazy and didn't tear it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States