Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I would definitely make this again. I wanted to use this as a main dish, so I used a whole Jennie-O turkey kielbasa, which I think was closer to 14 ounces. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Nice for winter. I used turkey bacon in place of the kielbasa, and 3 cups of broth/3 cups of water. I also substituted orzo for the rice. Big hit with the kids-even with the spinach in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is a delicious soup, and I left out the meat! I can only imagine how good it would be with the kielbasa. I wanted a lighter lunch, packed full of veggies, so I added more carrot, onion, and diced red pepper, as well as red pepper flakes. (You can add to your own liking - mushrooms, celery, etc.) I saw no reason to cook the rice first, so I just added it in with the lentils to cook, replacing all the water with chicken broth. I halved the recipe and am so glad I have leftovers for more lunches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't have any "turkey kielbasa" kicking around so, I just tossed in some chicken breast cut into smaller chunks. I mostly used chicken broth vs all the water this calls for. I use fresh spinach, never bought frozen or canned before. Good with extra red peppers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knwbuddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It was quite good - although I did follow the suggestions re switching the water and broth around. Also I used turkey broth (it was what I had on hand)instead of chicken but the broth itself was full and very flavorsome. I also added some garlic (my middle name) as well. Next time I make this however, I think I may add some jalapenos if I want hot peppers instead of the flakes and use all of one kind of lentil instead of the mixture I had on hand (green and red lentils). Otherwise I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So yummy! Me and the wife enjoyed every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlCooks4Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Really enjoyable, healthy and easy. I make my own turkey sausage with ground turkey and spices using the "Homemade Italian Turkey Sausage" recipe from this site. Also like many other reviewers, I used 6 cups broth, 2 cups water, brown rice and added the rice uncooked to the soup with the lentils. Also I used kale instead of spinach, because that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I didn't really like this. I used 8 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water because I used a little extra rice, lentils and spinach. It was more like a stew than a soup, but that wasn't my problem. Just tasted too much like spinach and that's after adding a ton of different spices and salt and pepper. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup is great!!! :) I did half chicken stock, half water, and instead of spinach I added Kale (chopped to small pieces). So nice in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This soup is soooo good! I followed some suggestions, using garlic, brown rice, added uncooked at the last 30 minutes, and a whole package of keilbasa and spinach. Also, I didn't have chicken broth on hand so I used beef and it worked just fine. I didn't have crushed red pepper either so I used some cyanne. I loved this soup and will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States