Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I would definitely make this again. I wanted to use this as a main dish, so I used a whole Jennie-O turkey kielbasa, which I think was closer to 14 ounces. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Nice for winter. I used turkey bacon in place of the kielbasa, and 3 cups of broth/3 cups of water. I also substituted orzo for the rice. Big hit with the kids-even with the spinach in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is a delicious soup, and I left out the meat! I can only imagine how good it would be with the kielbasa. I wanted a lighter lunch, packed full of veggies, so I added more carrot, onion, and diced red pepper, as well as red pepper flakes. (You can add to your own liking - mushrooms, celery, etc.) I saw no reason to cook the rice first, so I just added it in with the lentils to cook, replacing all the water with chicken broth. I halved the recipe and am so glad I have leftovers for more lunches this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't have any "turkey kielbasa" kicking around so, I just tossed in some chicken breast cut into smaller chunks. I mostly used chicken broth vs all the water this calls for. I use fresh spinach, never bought frozen or canned before. Good with extra red peppers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knwbuddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It was quite good - although I did follow the suggestions re switching the water and broth around. Also I used turkey broth (it was what I had on hand)instead of chicken but the broth itself was full and very flavorsome. I also added some garlic (my middle name) as well. Next time I make this however, I think I may add some jalapenos if I want hot peppers instead of the flakes and use all of one kind of lentil instead of the mixture I had on hand (green and red lentils). Otherwise I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
So yummy! Me and the wife enjoyed every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlCooks4Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Really enjoyable, healthy and easy. I make my own turkey sausage with ground turkey and spices using the "Homemade Italian Turkey Sausage" recipe from this site. Also like many other reviewers, I used 6 cups broth, 2 cups water, brown rice and added the rice uncooked to the soup with the lentils. Also I used kale instead of spinach, because that's all I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I didn't really like this. I used 8 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water because I used a little extra rice, lentils and spinach. It was more like a stew than a soup, but that wasn't my problem. Just tasted too much like spinach and that's after adding a ton of different spices and salt and pepper. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup is great!!! :) I did half chicken stock, half water, and instead of spinach I added Kale (chopped to small pieces). So nice in the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This soup is soooo good! I followed some suggestions, using garlic, brown rice, added uncooked at the last 30 minutes, and a whole package of keilbasa and spinach. Also, I didn't have chicken broth on hand so I used beef and it worked just fine. I didn't have crushed red pepper either so I used some cyanne. I loved this soup and will make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States