Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Well, as written this recipe was a tad bland, as others said. So I added mushrooms, extra carrots, shallots, fresh pressed garlic, Sriarcha, etc. I ended up making it too spicy, but it just kept lacking flavor. The good news, is this is healthy! If I make it again, I will keep tweaking until it is perfect, though. There is definitely something lacking. Fun to experiment, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This soup is SO good. I used tips from other reviewers and cooked the rice with the lentils and used equal parts of water and chicken broth. I added a little garlic and omitted the carrot as I didn't have any. Also added asparagus in the last 5 minutes. My boyfriend loved it as well. I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was delicious! I followed most of the suggestions other reviewers made-I flipped the amounts of water and chicken stock, added brown rice with the lentils, and added garlic with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Prefer 15 minutes lentil soup recipe. Rice isn't needed, like addition of turkey sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
WOW!!!! I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe! I cooked it last night for my family and although my kids wouldn't touch it because it 'looked gross' my fiancee and i had to go back for seconds. I did make a few adjustments. I added 1 cup of rice instead of 1/3 cup, switched the amount of water and broth using 6 cups of beef broth and 2 cups of water and added 1/2 tsp of cumin and 1 tsp of curry and ommitted the onions and peppers (but ONLY because i didn't have any). This is now one of my new favorite dishes and i can't wait for lunch to eat it again! YUM!!! This is a great recipe! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I would say this was very bland and lacked flavor. The lentils needed longer to cook than the recommended time. After adding some garlic powder and a heavy sprinkle of parmesan cheese, it was much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flanders, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ocean Grove, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was soooo good and so easy to make. The only thing is that I needed more than 25 minutes for the lentils to be soft and I added barley that I had on hand as well. The recipe is easy to make and very cheap, will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
YUMMY!!! I read the reviews before making this dish and switched the broth/water ratio and added garlic and cumin as was suggested by others. I used fresh ground chorizo instead of kielbasa, which added a bit of 'ooomph', basmati rice added with the lentils, and simmered it for much longer than 25 minutes. A huge hit for the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Awesome soup! I followed the advise of other cooks and added a higher proportion of chicken stock, used brown rice, cooked for 50 minutes, and left the veges out until the last 10 minutes. Also, I added sriracha sauce for a kick. I will be making this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I added garlic and doubled the amount of sausage. I also used brown rice and added it with the lentils. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States