Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is so good!!! I added fresh garlic just as the veggies were nearly ready, and I did not precook the rice. I added it with the broth and water. I use whole grain brown rice and regular kielbasa sausage. I have made this several times and it is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEANNA
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This soup was perfect on a cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I made minor adjustments to this and it was fantastic! It was a wonderful earthy yet spicy comfort food on a cold Sunday night. I used brown rice instead of white, chicken stock instead of water, and omitted carrot although it seems appropriate for this recipe. I sauteed some red bell pepper and celery instead. I chose to make this in a slow cooker. Saute the veggies and kielbasa first, add to slow cooker with dry lentils, spinach and about 4 c chicken stock/broth. Add brown rice for last hour of cooking. Next time I will try adding some cumin and topping with grated parmesan at the end. (tip from Giada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent -- I made several changes and additions. I used olive oil--always--rather than vegetable. I switched the amounts of broth and water as reviewers had suggested, added lots of extra red pepper (I like it spicy), and added the rice (Basmati) with the lentils (green) rather than cooking separately. I added to the onions, 4 cloves of garlic (minced); to the spices, caraway seed, 1 bay leaf, summer savory, & garam masala; to the broth, a splash of red wine; and to the spinach, a handful of sliced mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Great and very easy. I used brown basmati rice and red lentils. I didn't see the need to cook the rice separately so I added it when the soup started to boil. Let that simmer for about 20 minutes and then added the lentil, as they don't take as long to cook and didn't want them too mushy. I didn't have any turkey kielbasa, so I used sundried tomato & herb chicken sausage, I also added 1 c of celery, garlic, a few extra chicken bouillon cubes, and I left out the red pepper, as my 2 yr old doesn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Good for being lentil soup (trying to be healthy is always tough). Added a little garlic powder. Used instant brown rice added when beans were added. I like to serve with salt, pepper, vinegar and a little parm. cheese. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Delish!!!!! I made this for 2 other families and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
This was just a little bland for me, although it's most likely because I omitted the sausage as I didn't have any. I had planned on using a ham bone instead, but the one I had in the fridge went bad. I used 4 cups of broth and 4 of water to try to up the flavor, and added a little bit of liquid smoke to the final product. I think I'll try a few other lentil recipes before I settle on this one, although I do like this one because of it's use of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My family really enjoyed this one. I did make one alteration though. I switched the amounts of chicken broth and water (6 cups chicken broth - 2 cups water). And for next time I think I will be adding a bit of garlic (as that should go in EVERYTHING)...and will cut the pepper flakes in half. It wasn't that spicy if you only had one bowl - the second one had our noses running away. It was wonderful with some buttered peasant bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe. I love fresh garlic so I added that… I also used brown rice (added @ the same time as lentils) and frozen spinach. I only had one problem, but it was totally my fault. I thought I could save time and just throw everything into the crock pot… the first couple bowls were awesome, but by time I got to the end, all of the flavor from the kielbasa had leached into the broth, leaving the meat flavorless and chewy. (I just picked the pieces out). So if you use the crock pot I wouldn’t leave the soup in it for reheats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States