Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Great recipe! I served this to a friend who is the BEST cook I know and she asked for the recipe. You can vary the ingredient proportions to your personal taste. chicken bouillon cubes worked great and I used more of them- about one for every 1.5 cups of wather. Used brown rice- really tasty and easy AND healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I was afraid of making bland lentil soup - this recipe is anything but that! If you want a real soup though, add more water; this came out like more of a stew/porridge for me. Also, I added celery and used healthier brown rice instead of white rice. Serve in a bowl with an over-easy egg on top for a great, protein-packed breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I have to give this one 3 stars. I did alter the recipe but only after I felt it was lacking taste. I added some crushed tomatoes and some salt. It just seemed to need more salt. It does taste better on day two but I probably won't make this one again. I still think that the Lentil Chili is the best. I guess I will just stick to that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Oh my goodness, this is going on my regular rotation of soups. It is so delicious for being so healthful! For some reason I wrote down veggie broth when I made my grocery list for this recipe, but honest to goodness, I might make it that way in the future. It tasted great! My husband isn't a big fan of lentils so I may try to substitute something next time around, but he said that when it came to taste and "heartiness", he really enjoyed it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Yum!!! I followed other reviewers and used more chicken broth than water and just added the uncooked rice with the lentils. And, I had already cooked up Italian Sausages in the freezer, so used that instead of Kielbasa, DH really doesn't like either, but I tried! Added a few more carrots and a clove of garlic. DH complained about the sausage, but DS & I loved every bite! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellant and very adaptable. I used all chicken stock (no water). Love the spinich addition but substituted ditalini pasta for the rice. Great recipe that can be altered to suit your taste Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Eagerly added to the "Souper Sunday!" list, where I make a large pot and put in portion bags for lunches. I've had this batch in bags for eight days, still flavorful and hearty. Changes I used turkey ring bologna because I couldn't find kielbasa. I had a tough time getting it to brown/crisp, but even without that, it seems immune to the "rubbery" meat texture others had. I also added the lentils and rice at the same time, to excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I like this soup but think it needs a little something more. I did not have sausage so made it with beef broth and that might be why it was a little bland. I added extra vegetables such as broccoli which I think I would do again. I will also add extra spices like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Craven, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend and he told me he hadn't had soup like that since his grandmother from Italy cooked for him when he was a young boy! It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States