Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
very good, did not use turkey though. And used lentils in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
We really enjoyed this soup. I did make a few adjustments. I switched the broth and water amounts. Added some celery, a diced tomato and several cloves of crushed garlic.Seasoned it with some parsley and paprika. I didn't have any spinach on hand and took the advice of someone else and used cabbage. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I had a friend BEG for this recipe. Like others, I made minor adjustments (use frozen spinach, brown rice) but definitely add cooked rice @ end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very good soup, although I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used chicken sausage instead if kilbasa. Instead of using broth and water separately I boiled the sausage to cook it and used the broth from that as the base. Everything else was kept the same and the coup was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Husband and I really liked this soup. Only four stars though because I was looking for something thicker, will probably use less water next time. I didn't have any stock on hand, just used water and it was flavorful enough from the garlic I added and the sausage seasonings. I used a lamb sausage that I had around, it was quite good. Finally, I used cabbage instead of spinach since we have an overabundance at the moment and it is REALLY good with cabbage. I just shredded it and added in the last few minutes, let it cook down a bit. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
What got my attention about this recipe was the ability to tweak it just a little and make it a powerhouse recipe for preggos (like me). I took other reviewers' advice and swapped the water/broth amounts, added a dash of cumin and also some celery seed, and used brown rice (much healthier) instead of white. I didn't have turkey kielbasa hanging around, so I substituted some leftover peppercorn-crusted pork tenderloin and omitted the red pepper flakes, threw in some sliced mushrooms with the spinach, and topped with shredded Italian cheese blend. Came out awesome! The one thing I did wrong was try to rush the rice. I didn't give it the full 20 minutes to simmer and ended up with very firm rice and kinda mushy everything else. Any mommies-to-be or anyone who knows one, definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodpezhunting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I haven't had lentil soup in years & after reading several receipes,this was the one I decided to try. It is great! I used red pepper powder instead of flakes as I wanted to keep it mild. I put less rice to keep soup from getting too thick, and I had an extra mushroom that I sliced up & threw in there. However, I needed to add salt or otherwise, it was like beans in water to me. I also had chopped frozen spinach, which seemed to work fine. Great health conscious soup, definitely keeping this receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe. I substituted kale for the spinach, used brown rice and eliminated the sausage this time as we're trying to eat more meatless dinners. It was a big hit! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good! Hearty! I added some cumin, celery, and more broth to water as some other reviewers suggested. My wife is a vegetarian, so I used "better than chicken" brand broth, and didn't cook the kielbasa in the stew, but added it to mine after. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum!! I love this recipe. The turkey kielbasa is perfect and shouldn't be substituted with anything else. I did add a little celery and garlic but that was it. I added a little more chicken broth so that it was more like a soup than stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States