Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
very good, did not use turkey though. And used lentils in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
We really enjoyed this soup. I did make a few adjustments. I switched the broth and water amounts. Added some celery, a diced tomato and several cloves of crushed garlic.Seasoned it with some parsley and paprika. I didn't have any spinach on hand and took the advice of someone else and used cabbage. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I had a friend BEG for this recipe. Like others, I made minor adjustments (use frozen spinach, brown rice) but definitely add cooked rice @ end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very good soup, although I did not follow the recipe exactly. I used chicken sausage instead if kilbasa. Instead of using broth and water separately I boiled the sausage to cook it and used the broth from that as the base. Everything else was kept the same and the coup was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Husband and I really liked this soup. Only four stars though because I was looking for something thicker, will probably use less water next time. I didn't have any stock on hand, just used water and it was flavorful enough from the garlic I added and the sausage seasonings. I used a lamb sausage that I had around, it was quite good. Finally, I used cabbage instead of spinach since we have an overabundance at the moment and it is REALLY good with cabbage. I just shredded it and added in the last few minutes, let it cook down a bit. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
What got my attention about this recipe was the ability to tweak it just a little and make it a powerhouse recipe for preggos (like me). I took other reviewers' advice and swapped the water/broth amounts, added a dash of cumin and also some celery seed, and used brown rice (much healthier) instead of white. I didn't have turkey kielbasa hanging around, so I substituted some leftover peppercorn-crusted pork tenderloin and omitted the red pepper flakes, threw in some sliced mushrooms with the spinach, and topped with shredded Italian cheese blend. Came out awesome! The one thing I did wrong was try to rush the rice. I didn't give it the full 20 minutes to simmer and ended up with very firm rice and kinda mushy everything else. Any mommies-to-be or anyone who knows one, definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodpezhunting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I haven't had lentil soup in years & after reading several receipes,this was the one I decided to try. It is great! I used red pepper powder instead of flakes as I wanted to keep it mild. I put less rice to keep soup from getting too thick, and I had an extra mushroom that I sliced up & threw in there. However, I needed to add salt or otherwise, it was like beans in water to me. I also had chopped frozen spinach, which seemed to work fine. Great health conscious soup, definitely keeping this receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is a very good basic recipe. I substituted kale for the spinach, used brown rice and eliminated the sausage this time as we're trying to eat more meatless dinners. It was a big hit! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good! Hearty! I added some cumin, celery, and more broth to water as some other reviewers suggested. My wife is a vegetarian, so I used "better than chicken" brand broth, and didn't cook the kielbasa in the stew, but added it to mine after. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yum!! I love this recipe. The turkey kielbasa is perfect and shouldn't be substituted with anything else. I did add a little celery and garlic but that was it. I added a little more chicken broth so that it was more like a soup than stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States