Spinach Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was pretty tasty. As suggested I inversed the portions of water and chicken broth. I did about 5 cups broth and 2 cups water. I didn't add the turkey sausage. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montreal1975

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
My mother loved this. I switched the water and the chicken broth and added a few extra seasonings and this was a big hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Skip the water and use all broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very good! Didn't have any sausage on hand so it was a vegetarian recipe. I followed suggestions of switching broth (vegetable) and water. Also added 1/2 cu of pearl barley with lentils and skipped the rice altogether. Right before serving I run the immersion blender through it for some creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
As is this recipe is a 3 star recipe. Definitely use more chicken broth than the recipe calls and add garlic. I used brown rice instead of white. I also think it could also use more lentils for a little more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Delicious! I think that next time I would add a little less liquid, but it was really good, even today as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Tasty...used Italian sausage because you can't find turkey anything in N. Ireland, and left out the carrots because I didn't have any but it is so good and healthy and still comfort food-y. Topped with a bit of romano cheese because I put it on everything and it will soon be a staple soup for my winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This soup was soo yummy! I subsituted the rice for Barley and added milled flax and turkey kielbasa to make a little healthier. Overall a great first time experience with Lentils, I will definitely serve again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeighAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
With a few additions and substitutions this soup came out great. I added zucchini, yellow squash, and a 14 oz can of diced tomato. Additionally, I used kale instead of spinach as it holds up better in my opinion. I too flipped the water / broth using 6 cups of chicken stock (not broth) and 2 cups of water. I also added a generous helping of garlic, a dash of cumin, and two fresh bay leaves. One reviewer stated that the soup is bland, perhaps he or she did not allow the soup to really cook down thus developing flavor. Honestly, 25 minutes was not nearly enough time for the ingredients to mesh and for the flavor to develop. It took me nearly 50 minutes, and having said this next time I will wait to add the zucchini, squash, and kale until the last 15 minutes as it got a bit softer than I prefer. Moreover, do add salt and pepper to taste, not sure why it was left out on the recipe but it is surely necessary. I added uncooked rice and F renchlentils and the 50 minute cook time was perfect. This is a healthy and low calorie soup that fit my nutrition plan perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Just what we needed on a chilly fall day. Added a little bit of muenster cheese at the very end - helped to add another dimension of flavor and tied the soup together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States