Spinach Lasagna Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Mellina
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was tasty, easy to prepare, and surprisingly healthy, actually. I have been searching for a while for vegetarian recipes that are both yummy and low-cal (surprisingly it can be difficult to find non-fattening vegetarian entrees). I used light cream cheese, low-fat mozzarella and fat free cottage cheese and took the calorie count down to about 250-275 per serving, which is really amazing considering typical meat lasagna is around 800 per serving. I think lasagna rolls are better this way because you only eat one noodle with each serving, which means you only get about 75 calories from the pasta. Instead of topping this with spaghetti sauce I used alfredo sauce (prepared from a mix with skim milk and no butter) because my boyfriend is allergic to tomatoes. I think I would have much preferred marinara sauce and it would have been even healthier. Overall a great, easy, nutritious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is awesome. Made this for a family dinner and it was a huge hit. This is definitely a keeper and I have added it to my list of regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This was decent. The kids wouldn't touch it, but my husband and I thought it was good enough to eat the left overs the following day. It needed more seasonings -- garlic, basil, oregano -- something! I even used homemade spaghetti sauce, and it was just okay. I let the spinach thaw out in the fridge during the day, and it was still cool after it cooked. I would definitely thaw and bring to room temperature if I do it again. Also, I only had about 2.5 oz of cream cheese, so I added some ricotta instead because I like the texture. Maybe that's why it was so bland? Next time I would add more of the spices required for a lasagna to make it a more interesting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This recipe was very tasty and easy to make! I did add mushrooms which tasted great, and I also substituted low fat cheeses in place of full fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was fantastic! I used light cream cheese and you couldnt tell the difference at all. Also, I used fresh grated parmesan.. sooo goooddd. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Did not use the cream cheese but this still tasted great! Very easy to make and everyone loved it. Also was perfect for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was very simple and not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
So tasty! I liked that this was a lasagna recipe that didn't include ricotta (not my favourite kind of cheese). There are few enough ingredients here that most people people will have these all on hand. I didn't change a thing with the recipe and hubby loved it. No, he raved about it. This is now one of our favourites! Just a quick update -- This is the 4th time I've made this dish, but I found a time-saver that really works great. Instead of using dry lasagna noodles and having to boil them, I bought oven-ready noodles (which are fresh noodles) and this cut down on the time needed to cook everything. I just rolled the filling into the noodles and popped it all into the oven. Excellent! Turned out better, too! --- Another update (July 30 '10): Made this meal ahead of time and froze the lasagna rolls - it turned out excellent. I made the rolls as per my instructions above and froze them (without the sauce). When almost ready to use, I defrosted them in the fridge for a day and put them in a greased pan, poured the sauce over them and cooked for an hour at 350 degrees. Perfect. Will make these in batches and freeze for later use. Thanks again Philadelphia!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States