Spinach Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, fresh spinach and a premade jar of sauce. The lasagna came out beautiful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I've made this recipe three times since I saw it online. It was really easy. Instead of making the sauce with sauce mix, tomato paste and tomato sauce you can use a can of spaghetti sauce. Cottage cheese works just as well as the ricotta. I also used fresh spinach because I did not have frozan on had- I stemmed the spanish first and tore off the stems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
This is very good lasagna. I followed the instructions exactly, except I used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of an 8 oz can. I can't imagine an 8 oz can would have been enough. I cooked for the length instructed but the noodles were still a little tough. The taste was great and the sauce was very rich and full of flavor. I will definitely make this again but try cooking the noodles first. **I have to add that this lasagna was 100 times better heated up the next day. The sauce was tastier and the noodles more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Overall, this recipe is very simple to make and pretty tasty. I changed the recipe slightly to substitute store boughten pasta sauce for the first four ingredients because I prefer the flavor. (For example, I chose a spicy roasted red pepper sauce to make mine more flavorful.) I also made the slight addition to include cooked carrots in with the spinach ricotta mixture. Overall, my only complaint was that it was not quite cheesy enough. I wish the cheese to noodle ratio was a little bit higher. Granted, I understand why the ratio is the way it is since ricotta comes in a pint size. However, when I make it in the future I will probably add more fresh mozzarella cheese or perhaps some romano to make it four cheese lasagna. However, overall it is a great, simple recipe. It's also very easy to add in other veggies you like such as carrots, zucchini, bell peppers, etc. But if you're a cheese lover like me, I would add in more cheese to make it even yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELOUA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Great lasagna. I used double the amount of cheeses called for and 2 boxes of spinach, along with more sauce. I used the Barilla jarred sauce and the no cook lasagna noodles. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This is the first lasagna I ever made, and it turned out awesome! It came out of the oven a bit saggy in the middle, but no one cared at all. My fiance ate about a third of it by himself! I substituted a jar of spaghetti sauce w/ mushrooms since I wanted a few mushrooms and was too lazy to make my own sauce; I also added half a cup of romano and extra parmesan, since I crave cheesiness; and I added some basil, oregano, and parsley since it seemed appropriate. Just a great lasagna, and quick to make on top of that. Definitely making again when I need a lot of food and don't have a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2000
I like the flavour of the spinach in this dish. I used oven-ready lasagne noodles and it worked just as well. Quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This is soooo good...even tastes great cold! A fantastic way to serve spinach and to treat your vegetarian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Great recipe. I've been trying to learn to cook in the weight watchers world in which I have been thrust. This was a great recipe. I used fresh spinach leaves, a premade spaghetti sauce, cottage cheese instead of ricotta, and left out the mozzarella cheese. We liked it better than traditional lasagna. And it even has a vegetable in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very good basic recipe. I used a jar of spaghetti sauce and a can of petite diced tomatoes with Italian seasoning. Even my 4 year old who hates spinach loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States