Spinach Lasagna II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I added shredded zucchini, cucmber and dices tomatoes and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This lasagna was absolutely delicious, but like most recipes, it's a better base-concept than word-for-word. I made this with whole-wheat noodles for extra nutrition and they didn't hinder the taste or tenderness at all. The sauce is much better if you use a typical jar of spaghetti sauce, or if you season the tomato sauce/paste yourself with whatever herbs/spices you like, and maybe some shredded carrot. Obviously, adding meat to the sauce is an easy tweak and it doesn't hurt the ratio of the dish one bit! I used fresh spinach (about two generous cups loosely packed and mixed into the ricotta/egg mixture.) Also, this is FANTASTIC if you slice up some brown mushrooms nice and thin and layer them between the ricotta and the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was a big hit with our family tonight! I used store bought pasta sauce and was a bit more generous with the mozzarella cheese, but found this to be a great base recipe. My four kids and husband all loved it! All but one of us had seconds. I am sure the leftovers (what few are left) will be quite tasty tomorrow. Next time I plan to make two and put one in the freezer. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. I have been using it for years. I got it out of a cookbook called the Active Woman's cookbook. It gives the option of 8 ozs. of Ricotta or 8 ozs. of cottage cheese. I always use cottage cheese, and make everything exactly as the book says. If you use frozen spinach, like it suggests, you squeeze as much of the water out as you can. The water though, is what helps the noodles cook in the oven. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigchuckles44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
this was so easy and my husband loved it. enough for several days.......even better the next day( he's a big meat lover and didn't even notice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I had serious doubts about this recipe...I didn't think the noodles would cook. I actually did mine all in a slow cooker on high, and in less than 1.5 hours it was perfect!!! (Note: my slow cooker doesn't take long to heat up). I admit I did change a lot of things. Like others, I used canned basil spaghetti sauce, low fat cottage cheese instead of ricotta (tried to strain it a little first - cottage cheese is more watery)...didn't add the parmesan (would've been better with it, but trying to make it more low fat) or mozzarella but instead put some sharp cheddar on the top only. I think that's one of the best things about this recipe: it's versatile, and as long as you include the right amt of liquids, it will turn out beautifully! Since I cut out some of the flavor with the cheese, I added Italian dried spices to the spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Awesome. Why go for take-out when this is so easy? Will definitely use this recipe again. So convenient when there's no time for "fussy" lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I made some changes to make it easier on myself. I used a large jar of spaghetti sauce instead of "making" it using the first 4 ingredients. I also used the nobake lasagna noodles to save time. It turned out great, even for my meat lovers in the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
It was easy. Relatively fast. And very delicious. It's easy to customize. My husband who claims he doesn't like lasagna was able to eat some nice sized portions. I really enjoyed it. It's a shame I'm doing the diet thing because I could only eat a very small part. But it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
It was good. Cheated and used oven ready noodles and Prego. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States