Spinach-Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I can seriously eat green bean casserole any time of the year. I enjoyed the addition of spinach which was great since I was going to make creamed spinach. This saved me from making an additional dish! I never make a green bean casserole without adding cheese, so I baked this with sharp cheddar tossed into the mixture and sprinkled a coating of it on top with the fried onions. You don't need to wait for a holiday to make this dish. Whenever I am craving comforting food, I look to green bean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! So much heartier than the plain recipe. I added one can of chopped water chestnut, 10oz fresh sliced mushrooms, and 1 tbs Worcestershire sauce. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Wyatt Vasil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
The author recommended creativity and that's what I did. I used frozen, steam-in-bag vegetables and cooked them according to the package. I sautéed an onion and garlic in olive oil and then tossed it with the steamed beans and spinach. I also added some seasonings for flavor and put a little bit of cheese on the top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Fabulous casserole! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I added mushrooms, shredded cheddar cheese, black pepper (to taste) and water chestnuts (for a nice crunch). I highly recommend adding water chestnuts to this dish for the crispy/crunchy appeal. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Great recipe. If you would like to use fresh green beans, simply steam them with a little salt and pepper (either on the stove or in the microwave) beforehand. We also added some sauteed onion and mushrooms...and just as the author stated, this is a recipe that lends itself to being creative and adding in extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Loved this version of green bean casserole. The spinach makes this dish! Will probably not go back to the original. I added shredded swiss and some garlic pepper. Just could not stop eating this! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denmark, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I cooked this for Thanksgiving 2013. And again for Christmas 2013 and again for my brother's bday on New Year's Eve 2013. This was such a huge hit that my family has made me promise to make it for each function. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
What a great new twist, love this and will add to our collection. I gave four starts because in my opinion it could use more fluids of some sort. Just a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Prospect, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Found the spinach more overpowering than expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was delicious! I used frozen spinach instead of canned, and added about a cup of freshly shredded swiss cheese and 8 slices of cooked bacon crumbled up. We served this as a side dish for Thanksgiving, but I'm sure it would make an awesome dip too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States