Spinach-Gorganzola Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I can't even rate how this tastes, because we ended up eating a salad of plain spincach with toasted pine nuts, blue cheese, and Ranch dressing. The dressing was going fine until I added the remaining dressing to the pan, where it promptly separated and turned into one big, disgusting, gloppy mess. (The heat was turned to low...) It was unusable as salad dressing. If one is going to make this, I don't recommend heating the remaining dressing, but just stirring the heated onion mixture into the room-temp mixture. I am saving the onion mix to hopefully use on chicken or something. The only thing I was able to use was the toasted pine nuts- those were wonderful. I'm kind of upset about the whole thing because it was very time-consuming, and then it didn't work (and wasted my good olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and bacon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Yummy. A bit more labor intensive than I imagined so I did some shortcuts -- used pre-cooked bacon pieces and heated up with a little bit of oil. Used a much smaller amount also and we more than enough bacon in the dressing. Used regular blue cheese instead of gorganzola but next time will up that amount slightly. Finally, I just put the onions in with the bacon and let it all cook together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This sounded so yummy, BUT my husband and 2 guests didn't love it. Made according to directions except cut back to 1/2 lb. bacon (still too much). Overload on calories and time-consuming, I don't think I'll make this recipe again. With some overhaul, I think the recipe has potential - using the same basic ingredients, cutting down on the measurements and lightening up on the dressing (2/3 C of olive oil is excessive).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Very good. I think I forgot the pine nuts but I added sauteed mushrooms. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Yummy!! My guest ate 3 servings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This is a simple yet flavorful salad. The next time I will use white balsamic vinegar for the sake of appearance. I wasn't fond of the darkness of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Climax, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
So decadent and easy to make. We used spicy candied pecans instead of pine nuts for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Preparation for the salad was a bit too involved for the end result. It was a nice change from regular ho-hum salad but not as dazzling as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Delicious! I made afew changes though: - After I made the dressing I heated that up in a sauce pan then spooned afew spoons over the leaves. I didn't use anywhere near as much as the recipe tell you to. - After that I tossed on the bacon and uncooked onions. Next time I think I'll cut right down on the oil as well, the dressing didnt like sticking to the leaves. But still an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quakers Hill, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Was the best course of the meal. Substituted sunflower seed for nuts due to allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States