Spinach Gnocchi with Gorgonzola Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This was just wonderful! We had to add a little more flour to make the dough work just because it is so humid here right now. Plus, our spinach took about two squeezes to get close to being dry. One tip- measure the wine carefully. 3 Tablespoons is about 1/4 cup- we figured wrong and added almost a half cup so our sauce was thin. This was our fault but we added more gorg. cheese and it was fine. What a great recipe.. thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My sister in law made this tonight for Christmas dinner, it was wonderful! I was very impressed! It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Sorry that I can't rate the sauce. We just wanted the gnocchi recipie. It was delicious. As stated in another review, go by the "feel" of the dough when it comes to how much flour you will or will not need to add. If you have made bread this would be obvious. Thanks for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Great gnocchi recipe. The dough was perfect. I modified the recipe to serve six. Taste and texture was still perfect and cooked up nicely. The cream sauce was great, but made more than enough for even the increased amount of gnocchi. Gorgonzola was a very mild taste and very, very rich. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I didn't make the gorgonzola sauce (I used Julia child's cheese enriched sauce bechamel instead), but these gnocchi were still fantastic. They didn't fall apart when I boiled them, which is something that I've had happen before, and they were nice and soft. These gnocchi have a great flavor, and are even better than the those made from the spinach gnocchi recipe in the vegetarian epicure! I'll definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dalittlebear1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Girdwood, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I don't think I made the gnocchi quiet right. I've never made it before but...the sauce is amazing!!!! AMAZING! I've used this sauce on regular pasta many times. It is a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
this is very easy to make in a kitchen aid with dough hook or food processor with the plastic dough blade. very tasty. i add some parmesan to my sauce but that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Gnocchi takes a soft hand, you have to know the feel of the dough. I have done this with potato and it comes out great. instant mashed or even frozen potato will work. and do not forget to drain you spinach and Ricotta cheese. it has to be DRY or you over work the dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I did not add the brandy extract to the sauce, but I made everything else to the recipe. I recommend looking up Strozzapreti on Wikipedia to get the history on this dish. Do not overwork or undercook your pasta, because it will not come out well. This recipe is possibly not for cooks new to working with pasta doughs. Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
We know ricotta and spinach gnocchi as "strangled priest". Some name. Huh? LOL. The gnocchi won't be tough if you don't work the dough too much. Also, just like with baking bread, you have to take into account the humidity. You'll use more flour Summertime in FL than you will in the dead of Winter in ND. As for taste... my own tastebuds prefer this without the brandy extract, but each to his own. The gorgonzola cream sauce is decadent, though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States