Spinach Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe, only changed a few things to make it a little healthier/lower fat. I used red onion in place of the green ones and sauteed them in olive oil instead of butter. I also used 1% milkfat cottage cheese in place of the ricotta. This turned out very creamy and tasted very good. I skipped covering the top of the enchiladas with cheese, so I only used 1 cup in the filling. Didn't miss it! I also used fresh spinach cooked down instead of frozen simply b/c I had it on hand and needed to cook it. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is a wonderful spinach enchilada recipe. I followed the filling part exactly - only changing the store-bought red enchilada sauce to a homemade creamy white garlic sauce, as I prefer a white sauce with spinach. I simply sauted minced garlic in a small amount of butter - and added my thickener, flour in this case, to make a typical Roux, before adding half and half to the mixture until I reached the correct consitency. Used only salt and white pepper for flavor. The filling is brought together with the Ricotta - don't leave that out. It lends a smooth and rich taste to the finished product. This filling could be made in advance and assembled before cooking. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I am reviewing my revised recipe, because I had a feeling this would be bland if made as is. Here were my changes- sautéed one diced poblano, half of a jalapeno, half of a red bell pepper, three cloves of garlic, one yellow onion, and one 4oz can of green chilies to add to spinach mixture- I also doubled the spinach. Added cumin, chili powder, parsley, and cayenne to the filling. Made “10 minute enchilada sauce” from this site to put on top. It was really, really good. The pepper combo made it much heartier. My meat loving husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I really liked these, but, like another reviewer, I added seasonings to the spinach / cheese filling, like onion powder, garlic salt, cumin, chili powder, red pepper flakes, and pepper. This was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Everyone I have made these for loves them except for two of my sons who don't like even the thought of eating spinach and I have served them to a lot of people. I have never made them with ricotta cheese--I use cottage cheese instead because we like it better and it is cheaper. I also use cheddar or mozzarella cheese because that is what I have on hand, and fresh spinach cooked, drained and well chopped. I have used both corn and flour tortillas(we prefer flour) and both work great --the corn you do have to soften or they will crack when you roll them. Finally, green enchilada sauce is wonderful on them, but so is the red enchilada sauce from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I love the enchiladas de espinaca at the local mexican restaurant and tried to copy them at home. To add color and flavor use tomatoes, add them part way through cooking the garlic and onions. I use cottage cheese instead of ricotta (I like the texture and flavor better) as well as fresh spinach that I steam. I use cheddar to top it off and sour cream when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I printed this recipe knowing it would be good. I decided to add a little more of a mexican touch to it. Try this and you'll love them too. I took the sour cream and blended it with a roasted california chile, 1 roasted jalapeño, 1 roasted green tomato, 1 cube of chicken boullion, a 1/2 cup of half and half and a dash of salt and pepper. Continue with the recipe instructions and you'll be loved by your guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I thought these were just terrific. I did sub a medium sweet onion for the green and added some seasonings to the spinach/cheese mix like cumin, salt, chili powder and hot pepper flakes. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I gave this a 5 stars because the flavor was good actually, BUT too much spinach in each one. I would actually next time add 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese and 3/4 cup sour cream. They were a little too much spinach for me. And I do like spinach. Or reduce the amount of the spinach you use from 10 ounces to 7. I plan on trying the increase in the ricotta cheese and the sour cream myself. And I used the enchilada sauce recipe on the site "RED ENCHILADA SAUCE" by Sara it is really good. Good Luck, and I will make this again with the revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I wish I could give this four and a half stars. It is a very good recipe, especially since it is a change from the usual. However, I agree with the other reviewers that it needed a good deal of extra seasoning. However, I will certainly be making it again with some extra ingredients (more onions, spices, etc.). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States