Spinach Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These were good but I can only give the recipe 4 stars as is. Like other reviewers stated, the whole thing seemed pretty bland without some sort of seasoning. I subbed cottage cheese for the ricotta and used light sour cream. Non-fat, plain Greek yogurt would also work in place of the sour cream. I sauteed the spinach with yellow onion and garlic and added in the last of my Penzey's bold taco seasoning. Then I had a can of Ro-Tel that had been sitting in my pantry for a while so I drained off the juices in a colander and threw that into the filling as well. Overall, the extra kick from the Ro-Tel and the taco seasoning really helped and the tomatoes in the filling were a nice addition. This is a good base recipe but don't be afraid to play around with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I subbed cottage cheese for ricotta and unstrained greek yogurt for sour cream and you wouldn't miss the extra calories - same great taste with less guilt! Also, you can leave the cheese on top of enchiladas off because there is already enough goo and flavor without it! I added mushrooms and garlic (just because I had them on hand) and sautéd them with the spinach and onions - delicious extra touch! A good option when you are craving mexican food but don't want a heavy belly! I served with spanish rice and jalapeno and black beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I have been making this recipe for many years now. I like to do several things differently, however. First-use cream cheese, monterey jack, and less sour cream inside the enchiladas. Second, I think they are better with flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas. Lastly, I feel that they taste considerably better with about 30 minutes in the oven instead. In fact, sometimes it seems that these also taste better after they sit in the fridge overnight and are reheated-I feel as though the flavors are better dispersed at that point. It is accompanied well by Spanish rice and tortilla chips. But that's just my opinion! Keep trying it till you get what you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband is Hispanic from South Texas and he raved about this recipe!!! I did make a few changes. I added 1.5 lbs of poached shredded chicken breast to the mixture and diced a jalapeño and serrano pepper. That made it incredibly spicy and the enchiladas were very full, which we like. This is definitely a repeat in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this! Added onion, poblano pepper, green chilies, extra spinach box and made 12 enchiladas since pkg contained 12 anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Fantastic! I used a yellow onion bc that is what I had at home and I sauteed sliced mushrooms with the onion and garlic to just add another veggie. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was absolutely delicious, but I expected it to make more. Next time I will double the recipe. Used yellow onions instead of green and sauteed in canola oil. Only needed one 10oz can of enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Could use more spinach, less cheese. But it was very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KITTYBRAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made these because I had leftover ricotta in the fridge but didn't want another pasta dish. Unfortunately for me, the ricotta gave these a rich, italian taste. In the end we definitely ate these up and I was happy not to waste my cheese, but I'm going to stick to simpler, spicier enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I wanted to like it. Wasn't bad but not awesome either. I followed the recipe. People, please don't rate a recipe awesome or horrible if you change almost everything about it. Going through the reviews to see if I wanted to make it or not was frustrating. I often tweak a recipe to suit my familys tastes, but if you change everything about the recipe except you baked it - then reviewing it is kind of silly...If that is the case - just save the recipe with your changes. But don't review it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States