Spinach Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
These were the yummiest enchiladas I have EVER had! Even my husband and toddler loved them with no complaints about there not being any meat. The only thing I did differently was add a can of rinsed black beans and used a whole regular onion instead of the green onions. Oh, and I used flour tortillas because that's what I prefer. So delicious and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I love all of the ingredients included in this recipe, but I did not think it was very good. The flavor was just odd all-together. I think I didn't like the sauce I used - will try again with different sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna Rosinski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Love this recipe. I change to fresh spinach and I add shredded rotisserie chicken (for my husband). Instead of the sour cream I use plain fat free Greek yogurt. You won't miss the sour cream and this adds more protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
The only thing that I did differently was I added some ground cumin and chili powder to the filling. It was a great recipe though and everyone loved the enchiladas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
My husband gave it a 10/10! I changed a few things: I used fresh spinach instead of frozen, threw some cooked chicken chunks into the filling and poured a medium salsa over the top instead of enchilada sauce. This increased the veggies (chunky salsa) and made it spicy! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These were good but I can only give the recipe 4 stars as is. Like other reviewers stated, the whole thing seemed pretty bland without some sort of seasoning. I subbed cottage cheese for the ricotta and used light sour cream. Non-fat, plain Greek yogurt would also work in place of the sour cream. I sauteed the spinach with yellow onion and garlic and added in the last of my Penzey's bold taco seasoning. Then I had a can of Ro-Tel that had been sitting in my pantry for a while so I drained off the juices in a colander and threw that into the filling as well. Overall, the extra kick from the Ro-Tel and the taco seasoning really helped and the tomatoes in the filling were a nice addition. This is a good base recipe but don't be afraid to play around with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I subbed cottage cheese for ricotta and unstrained greek yogurt for sour cream and you wouldn't miss the extra calories - same great taste with less guilt! Also, you can leave the cheese on top of enchiladas off because there is already enough goo and flavor without it! I added mushrooms and garlic (just because I had them on hand) and sautéd them with the spinach and onions - delicious extra touch! A good option when you are craving mexican food but don't want a heavy belly! I served with spanish rice and jalapeno and black beans. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I have been making this recipe for many years now. I like to do several things differently, however. First-use cream cheese, monterey jack, and less sour cream inside the enchiladas. Second, I think they are better with flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas. Lastly, I feel that they taste considerably better with about 30 minutes in the oven instead. In fact, sometimes it seems that these also taste better after they sit in the fridge overnight and are reheated-I feel as though the flavors are better dispersed at that point. It is accompanied well by Spanish rice and tortilla chips. But that's just my opinion! Keep trying it till you get what you like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
My husband is Hispanic from South Texas and he raved about this recipe!!! I did make a few changes. I added 1.5 lbs of poached shredded chicken breast to the mixture and diced a jalapeño and serrano pepper. That made it incredibly spicy and the enchiladas were very full, which we like. This is definitely a repeat in our kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Loved this! Added onion, poblano pepper, green chilies, extra spinach box and made 12 enchiladas since pkg contained 12 anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States