Spinach Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were just ok, but certainly don't deserve the negative press some of the reviews give. Anyway, the key to frozen spinach is to dry it super duper well, in a colander, then pick it up and squeeze the lump over and over with both hands until nothing else comes out, then wrap it in towels (paper ones, clean dish towels, whatever) and squeeze it some more. The green onions were kind of weird to me here, and I wish I'd used pepper jack or else fried up some Anaheims with my onions because the overall effect was of pizza, not Mexican food. It's still a great idea & not hard to modify to your personal tastes. I used fat free ricotta (as I do in all savory fillings) and the texture is not noticeably different from regular ricotta in this recipe. P.S. - If you're worried about this dish being bland, use a jar of taco sauce instead of enchilada sauce. I wish I had, the stronger flavor of taco seasoning would have taken out the pizza similarities! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Sadonia2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I thought these were very good!!! I followed the recipe exactly and the ONLY thing I did different was used 6 oz fresh spinach, pepper jack cheese and I added chicken! I used the blue corn tortillas and the trader joes enchilada sauce and these were SUPER YUMMY!!!!!!! I can't wait to get home tonight and have me some leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleigh9
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Really good but i did not really follow the recipe all the way...I had to improvise a lot with what I had in my kitchen. I sauted an onion and garlic in olive oil instead of butter, then added the spinach, some muchrooms, and green onions. Instead of ricotta and sour cream I used cottage cheese, half a can cream of mushroom soup, and shredded cheddar cheese. I rolled the spinach cheese mixture in flour tortillas, and only used about half the can of enchilada sauce, and shredded more cheddar on top... An odd mixture I know, but it turned out delicious ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Bland. No one in my family cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMcFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Used mossarella cheese instead of romano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Enyeart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
These were so good! Great for our vegetarian tastes! I, like everyone of course, changed the recipe a bit, added avocado chunks, mushrooms and artichokes to the filling. I also used marble cheese instead of monteray jack. Such a good recipe that you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Easy to make! As suggested by other reviewers, the 10 Minute Enchilada Sauce recipe makes this dish very Tex-Mex tasty. I substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream & I was short on ricotta so I added a little cottage cheese too. This is a superb vegetarian entree for non-vegetarian adults who like plenty of vegetables in their diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Great base recipe. If you'll notice, The recipe doesn't include any spices -- in other words, a blank canvas. I swapped fat free cottage cheese for the ricotta, green enchilada sauce for the red, used about half of a large clamshell of fresh spinach instead of frozen, and used flour tortillas because I can never seem to roll corn tortillas without having them split. For the filling I added a 6oz can of diced green chiles, some leftover salsa verde, and a couple shakes of red pepper flakes, cumin, and chipotle seasoning. Without the seasonings, I think the recipe would be a little bland but it's really easy to jazz it up. Have fun with this one -- you can make it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Pretty good. Not "knock your socks off good," but tasty nonetheless. I hosted my parents for dinner last night (my hubby is out of town). B/c my hubby HATES ricotta cheese, sour cream & "saucy" enchiladas, I took the opportunity to make something calling for these very ingredients while he is away. :) I also try to make healthy dishes when my parents visit. My dad is on a heart-restrictive diet. I know he struggles to eat "good for you" foods (it's difficult to change a lifetime of unhealthy eating habits). If I can convince him that healthy food isn't bland, I'm making progress. :) While I like these, my parents & I both agree that my "modified" version was slightly better.... Since this recipe yielded 10 enchiladas, I made 1/2 as directed & the other 1/2 w/ 1 c. shreded rotisserie chicken / salsa verde. For both batches, I slightly altered the filling. I added 1/4 c. fat-free half-n-half (for creaminess - I do the same to my florentine shells) & 1/2 t ea. of chili powder, cumin, basil & Mexican oregano. This gave my filling just enough spice, but kept the heat factor in check for my mom's sensitive palate. I also poured ~ 1/2 c. of "sauce" in each pan b4 adding my enchiladas, the remaining sauce & cheese. My only other change was subbing flour tortillas for corn ones (just seemed more appropriate). All in all, these were good (and unique!), but didn't deliver the "wow" factor I was looking for. Thanks for a creative twist on an old favorite, SADONIA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My family loves this dish! Delicious and easy to make~ I ran out of sour cream, so I used cream cheese plus a few tablespoons of milk as substitute. It worked out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States