Spinach Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was very tasty & so easy to make. The only "tweaking" I did to this recipe is that I used fresh spinach and added a can of green chilies to the mixture. The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because of the enchilada sauce. And that's only because I've made this twice and used a different sauce each time but I can't seem to find one that tastes "authentic". So next time I try this recipe, I'll also make my own sauce and see how that comes out. But the filling portion of this recipe is 5 stars in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I decided to make this recipe because I do a vegetarian or fish dish one to two times a week. I wasn't sure of putting spinach with corn tortillas... it was good!! I didn't have green onions so I used an equal amount of chopped yellow onions. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is yum! I followed the recipe but used fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Altered this a bit, thus the 4 stars; end result was probably 4.5 stars. My number one goal was to cut the fat + calories, while maintaining the flavor. Added fresh spinach to saute of 4oz green chilies, 1/2 chopped mild jalapeno, 1 yellow onion (only 1/2 is needed) + 1/2 red bell. Seasoned w/sea salt + chili powder to taste. Used light sour cream and substituted low fat cottage cheese for the ricotta. End result was a little soupy, but I didn't measure the spinach so maybe I had extra sauce. Not sure, but I ended up w/extra mixture when I finished stuffing the tortillas. A slotted spoon removed enough of the add'l liquid for me. It probably made the tortillas a little more mushy than is traditional, but nothing problematic, the flavors were fab and it was a hit. One of the better enchilada recipes I've tried + one I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This recipe was a little disappointing. It sounded great, but my family hated it! Ricotta cheese and enchilada sauce was a weird combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
could use more garlic, great with the enchilada sauce I found online
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is easy and very tasty. Next time I will add more seasoning and maybe a can of green chilies. I like vegetarian cooking -- too bad my husband is a confirmed meat eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Very good base recipe. I used pepperjack cheese, and added extra spinach and some herbs & spices. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This recipe was pretty good, although I did not like the enchilada sauce that I used. I am not sure if a different brand would have made it better. The filling was yummy and creamy though, although it maybe could have used just a little more spices to flavor it. All in all it was good and worth the time. I filled a whole casserol dish and we had dinner for the week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
You have to try these! I made a few changes. I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and light ricotta. I like other reviewers seasoned the spinach mixture. I used a premix taco seasoning....but you could make it up with what you have. I goofed and added all the cheese to the filling, but we kinda liked it that way. We put extra yogurt on top. Next time I think I will add a can of green chilies. I thought we would get two nights out of them but they got eaten up! I served with refried beans. It was so fast and easy....it will be on my go to list for sure:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States