Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Used a 10 oz can of hot salsa de chiles verdes and frozen leaf spinach. Added chicken and onions on request and used less cheese. I rolled but next time will make casserole style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Our family LOVES this recipe. It's been different every time due to the different green salsas. Otherwise, I make it at least once/month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwileygo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love at first bite! I love creamy spinach enchiladas, but rarely eat them due to fat/calories. I used Mission's extra thin corn tortillas (80 calories for 2!) and fat free sour cream and you would never know. Fresh corn & black beans are really good in it too. For the salsa I used Tomatillo Salsa Verde by Kimberly Binning- this salsa verde is AMAZING!!! Try it, especially for this enchilada recipe. So excited to eat the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Made these for dinner tonight and they were wonderful!! I made a few changes to lower the calories and fat as I am on a diet. I made my own corn tortillas, used fat free sour cream, weight watchers mexican cheese and didn't have fresh spinach so I used frozen thawed and squeezed dry. It changed the calories to only 140 each and the fat grams to 3 each!! Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was amazing!!! I used queso fresco instead of Monterey Jack and made it the casserole way. I layered sour cream/salsa mix, cheese, tortillas, repeat. I baked it with extra green salsa on top and sprinkled on the remaining queso fresco 5 minutes before it was done. I didn't use the whole of the spinach because I was worried it would be soggy, but I wish I would have used all of it. The spinach was great. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I only gave this four stars because I can't take the heat as much - it was wonderful though. I just added extra sour cream to cool it down for me when I plated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is an easy, basic recipe that you can alter to your liking. My changes: added ranch style black beans and sauteed chopped purple onions to the inside of each enchilada, and about a teaspoon of cumin to the sour cream and salsa verde mixture. My grocery didn't have Monterey Jack, so I used a "Mexican Blend" of 4 cheeses. I also used flour tortillas out of personal preference. Instead of just putting salsa on top, I made more of the sour cream/salsa mixture and used that instead. Turned out really well...even my meat-and-potatoes boyfriend was raving and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe!!! It tasted so good and my family loved it! I did have to do the lasanga style that some people mentioned in other comments, because it was easier than frying the tortilla so it could bend. Im under 18 and i still could make it in less than 10 minutes. (not including bake time). Overall I think it is a healthy, easy alternative to regular chicken enchiladas that satisfies like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneyd523

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Decided to follow some of the other reviews and add mushrooms, onion and green pepper to stuff in the enchiladas. Delicious! Had no problems with the spinach though I stuffed baby spinach in whole. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Awesome! I added black beans between the spinach and cheese and it was delicious. Also, a semi-easy tip for working with the corn tortillas...and yes, the flavor is absolutely worth it. Heat them individually on each side in a dry iron skillet until they are more pliable. My partner and I used an assembly line process where I heated the tortillas and he stuffed and rolled them. Placing them fold down eliminated the need for toothpicks. Will definitely add these to the recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States