Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Don't bother rolling the tortillas. It is really good layered like many people suggested. Definitely use corn tortillas. One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
YUM! Made with green enchilada sauce and this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
The recipe itself was very tasty, but I can only give it 4 stars as written. 7 ounces of salsa is nowhere near enough. I'm also confused as to what a 10 ounce package of tortillas is supposed to be (what diameter? I'm assuming 6 tortillas since 6 servings, but this is not the most intuitive way of describing). I also didn't use nearly that much cheese nor do I think it necessary. I used baby spinach and instead of slice, I took handfuls and crumpled/tore to get a nice sized pile for each enchilada. I ended up using 'taco sized' whole wheat tortillas by Mission. Yes they were flour, I know I know. However, because they were simply rolled, I had no problems with breaking/tearing at all. Didn't have to warm them or anything. I also confess, I added some shredded chicken. I just needed to add some protein to the meal. I'm not entirely sure how much spinach/salsa/sour cream I ended up using inside the enchiladas, but to 1/2 cup sour cream I certainly added more than 3.5 oz of green salsa. I think I should have added more, too; the sauce was a good base to let the tortillas soak up, but was very mild. I also put a lot more than 3.5 oz on top. Just buy a 16oz jar or so and use what you like. I'll make it again with my changes, no question, so thank you for the recipe anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Sorry found this recipe to be bland and not something I would want to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is a great recipe for a quick and easy weeknight meal. I added cilantro and extra spinach. Thanks NICEGIRL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Wow! I would have given this 5 stars, but I changed a few things to suit my family's tastes. That said, this is a fabulous one to play with!! I shredded rotisserie chicken and added chopped fresh cilantro, mushrooms, and thinly diced onions - YUM!! Then, I doubled the salsa - mixing 2 (7oz) cans of Herdez Salsa Verde with 1 C sour cream - and mixed about 1/2 of that in with my chicken mixture. Oh, I also added the shredded MJ cheese directly to the chicken mixture. Divide the filling evenly among 10 whole grain (corn is too difficult to work with) tortillas and roll them up. Spread remaining salsa mixture over the top of rolls and cook for 20 minutes at 350. I served with spanish rice and got rave reviews from my DH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I thought these tasted good but My Hubster said they were excellent. I did have to take off a start bc I found some of the measurements and directions to be off. The recipe calls for you to mix together half the salsa and sour cream but then it is not totally clear how you were to use it. it says to fill the tortilla with some sour cream and salsa but does that mean the mixture or the reserved ingredients. I decided to mix all the salsa and sour cream together and use it that way. put a bit in the bottom, used some to fill the tortillas then poured the rest over top and that seemed to work. Also it called for a bunch of spinach. While I am sure "a bunch" ranges form grogery store to grocery store I found this to be WAY too much. I would say half a bunch as my tortillas were filled up and I have tons of leftover shredded spinach. Also if you put the rolled tortillas seam side down there is no need to secure with a toothpick so save the time and the trees. since it was a hit with the MR I will be making again but with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
These were *AWESOME!* quick, easy, and cheap! My whole meat-oriented family LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This had better be good! That's what I thought when I was making this. It was yummy after all but trying to wrap the corn tortillas; oil or no oil is ridiculous! I agree with others who recommend layering instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is really yummy. I followed others' advice and sauteed onions, mushrooms, and frozen white corn. I sprayed with non stick spray and layered corn tortillas, spread on some salsa/sour cream mix, spread some spinach, then the sauteed veggies and 1/2 of the cheese. Made another layer of everything, ending with the cheese and baked. Total winner, my two teenagers liked it and my husband said it was delicious. Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleyfosse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States