Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
We loved this recipe! I made homemade green sauce (look for a recipe for salsa verde...it's really easy to make), and the trick to keeping the corn tortillas from falling apart is to dip them briefly in hot oil in a pan (drain them on paper towels on a plate after doing this). It's tricky, but it makes the tortillas flexible enough to roll. Will probably make more salsa verde to use on them next time, too. Edited on 1/3/09: Making the separate enchiladas became too much of a hassle, so now I make this as a casserole (layering the spinach, the cheese/sour cream, and the corn tortillas, ending with the sauce on top). Much easier, and we make it more often now! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This recipe was AMAZING. No Joke. I made it for my family tonight (I'm 19), and everyone loved them. I don't follow recipes too well though, I'm pretty sure I added a lot more cheese than called for. I also ran out of green sauce for the top and was too lazy to go to the store so I made some more up with just regular salsa and made stripes on top and it looked great and tasted really well also. Like the previous reviewer though, my tortillas fell apart a little so next time I may try frying them in oil a little before hand. I really didn't mind them falling apart though because it tasted the same. But yeah, I registered on this site just so I could write a review for this recipe. That's how good it is....so go make it...now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Ok, actually I'd give this 3 1/2 stars. I followed the recipe as written but since I couldn't find a mild green salsa, I increased the sour cream a bit to cut the heat. The corn tortillas taste great but are a pain to work with. They unroll and tear. I tried putting them seam side down and that didn't work either. Whoever suggested making this as layered enchiladas was smart! I like spinach, but I did find these a bit too spinachy. If I make this again, I'd probably add chicken and/or beans and maybe some corn or mushrooms or something. The sour cream/salsa mix is tasty. The monterrey jack cheese is also excellent. Bottom line: I suggest adding more things to the filling and layering rather than rolling the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
So good, so easy. Perfect winter comfort food! I followed it almost as is except I stir fried 1 1/2 onion + 1/2 a red pepper + 1 cup of mushrooms with some cumin powder, salt, pep, paprika, garlic powder and chili powder. I also added half a finely diced jalapeno pepper to the salsa verde/sour cream mixture as the salsa I bought was mild and I like spice. After adding the sauce to the tortilla, I spooned some of the stir fried veggies, then I added the spinach + cheese and a bit more sauce. Cooked for the time stated. I can't wait to make these again! I'm a vegetarian and haven't enchiladas since I quit meat (1 yr ago!!!) because I didn't think veggie ones would compare, boy was I wrong! BTW I added much more salsa verde sauce then called for, almost double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Made a few changes in that we used low fat yogurt instead of sour cream and added some shredded roasted chicken in with the spinach. It was fantastic! The flavors blend perfectly, the Salsa Verde and the yogurt made a delicious sauce. We did not roll our enchiladas but stacked them instead in a round casserole dish and in the order of tortilla, sauce, spinach, chicken, cheese and repeat. Then poured the remaining sauce on the top of the last tortilla and added the remaining cheese. It's much faster to prepare that way and doesn't take away from the taste of the dish in anyway. This recipe is a keeper, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Yummy! This stuff is GOOD! Also GREAT reviews from my fiance. Followed the ingredients for the most part (except using a different type of tortilla) but got off a little on the propotions. Didn't have bunches of spinach, only baby spinach in a bag. Ended up using twelve ounces light sour cream, sixteen ounces Herdez Salsa Verde, two six-ounce bags of baby spinach, and two cups of shredded cheese. Used multi-grain wraps (NOT whole wheat, which I find dry); love the multi-grain...they add texture but don't taste heavy or gummy; always use them for enchiladas. Followed the directions except for the bright idea to wilt the sliced spinach in the microwave just to make it easier to handle. Well, I ended up having to blot and squeeze and squeeze and blot. You get the picture. Another reviewer mentioned watery...so maybe a good thing in the end, as all of the water I squeezed out of the spinach would have cooked out into the dish. We will fer sure make this again, maybe adding onions or shredded spiced chicken; using pepper jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Excellent recipe, my husband and I both loved it! I've aded sauteed mushrooms and onions, as someone suggested, and it turned out great! This recipe also works great with chicken (I use rotisserie or simply boil a chicken breast), instead of spinach. To follow up: the tortillas tend to fall apart when rolled. To eliminate this problem, heat up oil in a frying pan, and quickly dip tortillas in the hot oil before rolling them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ufa, Bashkortostan Republic, Russia
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
We're trying to eat vegetarian and this recipe was a hit, from my pure Texan husband to my 4 year old and 2 year old twins. Really tasty. I served it with Mexican rice, beans, and guacamole. Yummy, quick, easy, economical, and healthy. This is definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Excellent flavor, followed other reviewers' advice and added some more flavor to filling -- cumin, dried onion flakes, and a lot more garlic -- it was so easy and very good. I served it with Mexican rice, made in a rice cooker, it was the perfect combination. I'll be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
The green sauce was so delicious! It had just the right tang to it. I would have given it five stars, but my husband said that it had a little too much spinach for his taste (personally I disagree), but maybe next time I'll sautee some mushrooms in too or add more cheese. Also, my corn tortillas fell apart a little -- not sure why, if I just packed them in too tight or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Cheesy Chili Enchiladas

Quick-and-easy cheese enchiladas are smothered in chili-cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States