Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Used a 10 oz can of hot salsa de chiles verdes and frozen leaf spinach. Added chicken and onions on request and used less cheese. I rolled but next time will make casserole style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Our family LOVES this recipe. It's been different every time due to the different green salsas. Otherwise, I make it at least once/month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwileygo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Love at first bite! I love creamy spinach enchiladas, but rarely eat them due to fat/calories. I used Mission's extra thin corn tortillas (80 calories for 2!) and fat free sour cream and you would never know. Fresh corn & black beans are really good in it too. For the salsa I used Tomatillo Salsa Verde by Kimberly Binning- this salsa verde is AMAZING!!! Try it, especially for this enchilada recipe. So excited to eat the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Made these for dinner tonight and they were wonderful!! I made a few changes to lower the calories and fat as I am on a diet. I made my own corn tortillas, used fat free sour cream, weight watchers mexican cheese and didn't have fresh spinach so I used frozen thawed and squeezed dry. It changed the calories to only 140 each and the fat grams to 3 each!! Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PDSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This was amazing!!! I used queso fresco instead of Monterey Jack and made it the casserole way. I layered sour cream/salsa mix, cheese, tortillas, repeat. I baked it with extra green salsa on top and sprinkled on the remaining queso fresco 5 minutes before it was done. I didn't use the whole of the spinach because I was worried it would be soggy, but I wish I would have used all of it. The spinach was great. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I only gave this four stars because I can't take the heat as much - it was wonderful though. I just added extra sour cream to cool it down for me when I plated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is an easy, basic recipe that you can alter to your liking. My changes: added ranch style black beans and sauteed chopped purple onions to the inside of each enchilada, and about a teaspoon of cumin to the sour cream and salsa verde mixture. My grocery didn't have Monterey Jack, so I used a "Mexican Blend" of 4 cheeses. I also used flour tortillas out of personal preference. Instead of just putting salsa on top, I made more of the sour cream/salsa mixture and used that instead. Turned out really well...even my meat-and-potatoes boyfriend was raving and went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is a very good recipe!!! It tasted so good and my family loved it! I did have to do the lasanga style that some people mentioned in other comments, because it was easier than frying the tortilla so it could bend. Im under 18 and i still could make it in less than 10 minutes. (not including bake time). Overall I think it is a healthy, easy alternative to regular chicken enchiladas that satisfies like one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydneyd523

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Decided to follow some of the other reviews and add mushrooms, onion and green pepper to stuff in the enchiladas. Delicious! Had no problems with the spinach though I stuffed baby spinach in whole. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Awesome! I added black beans between the spinach and cheese and it was delicious. Also, a semi-easy tip for working with the corn tortillas...and yes, the flavor is absolutely worth it. Heat them individually on each side in a dry iron skillet until they are more pliable. My partner and I used an assembly line process where I heated the tortillas and he stuffed and rolled them. Placing them fold down eliminated the need for toothpicks. Will definitely add these to the recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

HERDEZ® Enchiladas Suizas

See how to make chicken enchiladas with a zesty tomatillo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States