Spinach Enchiladas Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I made half of the pan with corn tortillas and half with flour, and while the corn had good flavor, the flour held up better. I also didn't have anywhere near enough sauce to have anything to pour over the top, so I had to improvise with a can of red enchilada sauce I had in the pantry. Next time, I'd double the sour cream/salsa mixture, since that sauce would have tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Delicious and SO easy to make. I would definitely make this again, even my friends loved it. The only problem was I ended up with way too much leftover spinach. Make sure to get a pretty small bunch unless you have something to do with all of the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This was DELICIOUS!!! I ended up layering it like a lasagna vs rolling the 12 corn tortillas since they are famously difficult to work with. I left the spinach whole (16oz bag), used 1 c greek yogurt instead of sr cream and used Frontera Grills's tomatillo salsa which was nice and spicy. I'm only giving it 4 stars though because I was confused about the directions "stir together half of the sour cream and the green salsa." - but I didn't see where I was supposed to use the rest of the sour cream so I used a good 12 oz of the 16 oz of salsa with the full 8 oz of sour cream and poured the rest of the salsa (straight) on the bottom of the bottom before layering the tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I wasn't sure I would like these and I was pretty sure my husband wouldn't like them at all. But I needed a quick dinner and my husband will eat whatever is put in front of him. We both loved them! Not a drop left. The only things I will do differently next time is make a little more "sauce" and put a little more cheese on the inside of the enchilada and a little less on top. Excellent meatless dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Love the recipe so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Schreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe was so easy and delicious. I did add sautéed onion into the corn tortilla rolls. I made extra salsa/sour cream mixture and poured it on top . Topped it all with shredded cheese. My family loved it! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Super easy and super great! Made half with flour tortillas, and used 4 cheese combo. Only problem is I'll need to make 2 pans next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
To make the tortillas more pliable, I wrap them in a damp paper towel first and put them in the microwave for about one minute on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I would normally never do this, but I am going to review this recipe before I make it, just to add suggestions. I already know this is going to be amazing :) I can always come back & edit it later. I have made a recipe like this for years & we can never get enough of it. It is called Enchiladas Suizas & very similar. I would definitely suggest adding chicken to this. I would saute some chopped onions & different colored bell peppers with some garlic & cumin to mix in with the shredded chicken. I think I will use a blend of cheeses and increase the amount on top, just a personal preference as we love cheese. I personally prefer flour tortillas. I dip the tortillas in a slightly heated green sauce before filling and rolling. It makes the corn tortillas much easier to deal with, and no matter which kind of tortillas you use, it adds flavor & not the greasiness you would get from dipping them in oil. It is messy, but well worth it. I dip mine & lay them out on wax or parchment paper to fill & then roll. You would need extra green sauce for this that is not mixed with sour cream. I'm heading to the store shortly to buy what I need for this. I can't wait for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
These turned out amazing!I took others advice and sauteed onions/mushrooms. The only other change I made was combining salsa, verde enchilada sauce, and the sour cream together to get the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Enchiladas

These simple vegetarian enchiladas star spinach and two kinds of cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States