Spinach Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This recipe for Spinach Dip was phenomenal! It's pretty easy, but it makes a lot. So unless you have a large family, a party, or plan on eating it for a week, I would half it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This is excellent. I have to eat a vegetarian diet because of a medication I take causes kidney stone. This dip is awesome. Thanks for the most enjoy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My roommate and I are fanatic about this recipe! The cayenne really kicks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
wow! I used all the suggestions SPARKLER8666 suggested and the dip is out of this world good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Yummo! Tastes just like Ruby Tuesday's if I add chopped up artichoke hearts. I used a bechamel recipe from this site - which compliments the spinach nicely (the nutmeg is a natural partner for spinach), I used the colby jack-mozzerella combination recommended by another reviewer (1 1/2 c. to 1/2 c.) and cut the parm in half. I halved the recipe and it was plenty for a small party. I made this recipe because I needed to use up my leftover fresh baby spinach so I chopped up the remaining 1/2 bag and that amount was good for a half recipe of this dip, so I guess a full bag if I make the entire recipe next time. I also pre-sauteed the onion with a clove of minced garlic and sauteed the spinach for just a fraction of a minute and added it all to the melted cheese mixture and simmered for a few minutes on low heat. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
OK, this recipe is a 5 with some important modifications. No canned slimy spinach; I use a 16 oz. bag of frozen and cook it in the microwave and squeeze the excess moisture out. I use a giant skillet and saute the onion first in a tiny bit of olive oil, adding at least a TBSP of crushed fresh garlic near the end of the sauteing. I like artichoke hearts in mine, coarsely chopped, and add all the rest of the ingredients except the parmesan and cheddar in and heat stirring until incorporated and bubbly. (Also, I like to use a sundried tomato alfredo sauce, but the bechamel will work ok.) Finally I add the last cheeses in, though usually my proprotions are more like 1 cup of parmesan, 1 cup of cojack, and 1/2 cup of mozzarella. Sea salt to taste and it might need a little more cayenne if you want a more significant kick. However, this is not a BAD recipe as it is, just doesn't quite have enough oomph without the above modifications. And my way the recipe is completely cooked on the stovetop, no lengthy stays in a crockpot or extra baking in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I didn't use the bechamel sauce I used mayo and sour cream in combo with the cream cheese and I added in some nutmeg and black pepper it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
So I have now made this recipe now three times and I do know that it does say Dip but the second time I made this as a dip people started to just eat it with a spoon. So this time I made it as a pasta sauces but I did make some changes. I change the bechamel sauce for sundried tomato alfredo sauce I used two jars this time instead of one that I use for the dip. I also have used fresh spinach and frozen about half and half, finely cut the fresh and drain most of the water out of the frozen spinach like what has been said before. When adding the cheeses I like to pour the graded cheese slowly and keep stirring until all of the cheese is in, then let it simmer being careful not to burn it but to melt all the cheeses into the sauce. i will next time put some chicken or shrimp to it. I know this is a dip recipe but it can work and everyone enjoyed it, have fun and enjoy cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This was really good...but I had one problem...no idea what bechamel sauce is. Apparently I am not that experienced of a cook. I assumed you could just buy it at the grocery store and no wonder everyone there looked at me like I was crazy when I asked if they knew what it was, because I came home and googled it and I guess you have to actually make it with milk, flour, and some other ingredients. I bought frozen spinach in a cream sauce and just did w/o the bechamel. It was really good still...just really thick. I mixed in some alfredo sauce I had in the fridge which didn't really change the consistency much but seemed to bring out more flavor. Good, but not as easy as it seems b/c you have to make the bechamel. Is there another way to do this w/o making the sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I used mayo and sour cream instead of béchamel sauce and it only took 5 mins. This was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style

An amazing dip that’s as good as the original restaurant version.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States