Spinach Dip I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I was aiming to have this taste better than store-bought! I made some slight adjustments based on what I had on hand...... I used 1/2 container of sour cream, about 1/2 cup mayonaise, and 1-8 oz. package of cream cheese warmed and softened in the microwave with about 2 tabs of 2% milk. I added 1 package of onion soup mix and the frozen spinach thawed. I added some spices in dashes--Salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, sage and crushed red pepper, which I also used as a 'topping.' It looks great against the spinach! The spicy-ness can be adjusted to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious! Didn't use the mayo and used onion soup mix.... but still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This recipe is great, I did alter it some but only to my personal tastes. I used the Knorr brand vegetable soup mix, added about 1 teaspoon ground black pepper, a dash of cayenne pepper, 6 ounces of chopped water chestnuts, and 3 green onions sliced thin. It was a hit at my work potluck and they are now asking that it be my signature dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tInA*671*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yona, Yona, Guam
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I have used this exact recipe for over ten years. I have found that YOU MUST USE HELLMAN'S MAYO for the right flavor! Period. You HAVE to give it a few hours to chill for the flavors to "marry" (about 4 hours is prime). It is ALWAYS gobbled up at parties, even by those leary of spinach, and even my six year old loves it! I have used either Lipton or Knorr Vegetable soup mixes with equal success. Serve on cocktail pumpernickel, triscuits, tortillas or my favorite bagel chips. I have also tossed in some chopped artichokes and some extra mayo along with some grated parmesan for a warm spinach / artichoke dip on a whim and it was equally delish. Super easy, much loved, and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great for a get-together!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I didnot like it at all...I did the recipe how it was stated....the sourcream overpowered everything..I even omited the mayo still didnt come out like I expected....But I wont give up i will try it again and try it to fit my liking....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvrqmr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Simple and tasty! Served with pumpernickle bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Good startoff recipe. Use Knorr's Leek soup instead of veggie - you don't get the funky textured vegetable chunks that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Dirk Sims

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA
Photo by CatherineLilian
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
it was ok.. after a couple hours of sitting it gets very spinachy. but i guess thats ok because its spinach dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineLilian

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great Dip, It is better than any I have had before. Thanks a lot for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States