Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
This was an excellent dish. I baked my tofu at 425 for 20 mins (cubed) prior to adding it to the pan, I like tofu a little more "cooked" than it usually gets in dishes like these. The tofu would also be excellent fried if fat content is not an issue. I served it with some somosas and another spicier dish (both recipes I found on this site)and my guests couldn't have loved it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Delicious! I will make it again. I couldn't find curry paste, so used curry powder mixed with a small dab of sour cream and added a little extra curry for spiceyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
This has to be one of the best vegetarian curry recipes I have ever run across. I use frozen spinach instead of fresh and add some raisins for sweetness. I cook up a whole batch, freeze the extra in serving-size portions in zip lock baggies and eat over brown rice. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
simply great! a bit time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I couldn't find anything in the grocery store called "curry paste," but I did find a box labelled "golden curry sauce mix." It contained a brick of solid curry mix. I dissolved it in 14 oz. of coconut milk, over high heat, in the same pan with my already-sauteéd onions. It created a creamy sauce, to which I added the rest of the ingredients. It turned out great! It went very well with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Very good and easy. The only time consuming part was washing the fresh spinach, so next time I'll use frozen spinach. I added a cooked sweet potato, and it was great! Using the curry paste was so easy I may never go back to powder. The flavor of the paste also seemed fresher and more authentic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is one of my family's favorites and I have made it dozens of times. I don't like curry powder but curry paste is much different! I always get the mild kind which is excellent. Others who found this bland must not have used the paste. I have made this for lots of folks and they all loved it. I always use sweet potato(partially cooked already so it doesn't take long), carrots, lima beans and broccoli and sometimes leave out the tofu and spinach if I don't have them. Also try it with tempeh. It is fast, easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. We made it with a mild curry. First you notice the sweetness of the corn followed by a gentle warming of the pallet from the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Delicious. I added cooked and cubed red potatoes, which complements the curry taste quite nicely. My significant other enjoyed this dish despite his (unfounded) dislike for tofu. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This is a really great quick, healthy and filling recipe. I did not add rice, but ate it on its own. I also followed advice from another reviewer and baked the cubed tofu at 425 for 25 - 30 min (putting alittle nonfat cooking sray on dish and tofu). I have now found the best way to make tofu! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States