Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
This was an excellent dish. I baked my tofu at 425 for 20 mins (cubed) prior to adding it to the pan, I like tofu a little more "cooked" than it usually gets in dishes like these. The tofu would also be excellent fried if fat content is not an issue. I served it with some somosas and another spicier dish (both recipes I found on this site)and my guests couldn't have loved it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2001
I'd make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
Easy & delicious! I added sweet potatoes & red pepper squares for additional color. My vegetarian daughter loved it & so did the rest of the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Delicious! I will make it again. I couldn't find curry paste, so used curry powder mixed with a small dab of sour cream and added a little extra curry for spiceyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
Even good without the tofu -- I forgot to add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
This has to be one of the best vegetarian curry recipes I have ever run across. I use frozen spinach instead of fresh and add some raisins for sweetness. I cook up a whole batch, freeze the extra in serving-size portions in zip lock baggies and eat over brown rice. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
simply great! a bit time consuming
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
It is unclear which type curry paste is called for; I substituted curry powder and it did not taste right. Maybe Vindaloo paste is what you used. I found this to be a rather bland and really dry dish, nothing like the zing of Indian cuisine. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I couldn't find anything in the grocery store called "curry paste," but I did find a box labelled "golden curry sauce mix." It contained a brick of solid curry mix. I dissolved it in 14 oz. of coconut milk, over high heat, in the same pan with my already-sauteéd onions. It created a creamy sauce, to which I added the rest of the ingredients. It turned out great! It went very well with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
First time making curry and the results were great! Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States