Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Mmmm...loving anything spinach and chickpea-ish these days...I didn't have creamed corn so i used peaches and cream corn...fresh garlic and ginger. Made my own curry paste like fellow reviewer sugg. Put it over asian coconut rice and topped with cilantro. Sooo ;yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was my first venture with tofu. I followed some of the suggestions others had posted (made my own curry paste, pan-fried the tofu first)and added an extra 1/2 T. of curry paste. Wow! Was this ever good! It's pretty hot and spicy (esp. with the additional curry paste) but packed with flavor! I served it with whole wheat couscous. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svenska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JINGEE
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum! I pan fried the tofu till the edges become crispy before using them in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. ADDED EXTRA TABLESPOON OF CURRY PASTE - NOTHING EVER HOT ENOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie DiFrancesco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great warm dish for cold weather! I have made it just like the recipe says and added mushrooms, califlour, and other ingredients and it always turns out great. I typically add additional curry to my taste because I think it can be bland without it. I love it over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
While this didn't taste very authentic to me, it was still great. I make it pretty regularly now. Although I think I'm going to start making it with paneer instead of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is so fast, and so good. The creamed corn is some sort of secret weapon. I think the outcome probably depends a lot on the curry paste you use. We have a really hard time finding prepared paste around here, so I usually just make my own...2 tablespoons indian spices (a mix of whatever you have/like: tumeric, mustard seed, corriander, cumin, cayenne, etc), a clove of garlic, a half inch piece of ginger, a tablespoon of either vinegar or oil (depending on how much fat you're interested in). Whiz together in the blender or in a spice grinder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hearhoofbeats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Husband and I love this dish. Its super quick and easy to make. I generally have all the ingredients on hand, it goes together in no time at all, it's relatively healthy, and it's perfect to make when I'm too tired to make anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe will vary greatly depending on the kind of curry paste used. If you want this to be really spicy and fun, use THAI red curry paste. I used an authentic Indian red curry paste from a local Asian grocer and was very pleased with the outcome. I used real garlic instead of garlic powder. I didn't find it necessary to add additional salt. Curry paste is pretty high in sodium. I would HIGHLY recommend pan frying your tofu first as this will add to the texture and help the tofu hold up when it's combined with the sauce. I think steamed cauliflower would be a great addition to this recipe. Served over basmati. Really tasty. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This is really not what I was expecting. I left out the tofu, maybe that makes a difference. I love all the ingredients on their own, so I expected to love this. Not nearly spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States