Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent! I agree with other commenters' suggestions to use extra firm tofu and bake it (cubed) at 425 first, although I only did it for 15 minutes rather than 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I only had soft tofu on hand but baked it before hand at 450 for 20 minutes as others suggested and this helped keep it from breaking up. I baked two small halved sweet potatoes in the oven at the same time, peeled them when cooled, cubed and added with the chick peas. I used mild curry paste. I prepared this for my daughter and her boyfriend who are both vegetarian, they seemed to like it, my husband didn't complain and I think it is one of the best vegetarian dishes I have ever made. Will definitely make again as it is quick and easy and very tasty. Not to mention super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I love to add sweet potatoes to this recipe. I chop them up and then cook them with my onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyhjansen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Quick & easy! We liked it but, not enough flavor for us. Next time I will follow previous reviewer's suggestions: add Garam Masala and brown the tofu before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
delicious! I added sweet potatoes and some curry powder, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
simple, delicious and seemingly low in fat. aside from the small amount of oil used to saute the onion, this recipe is very lean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Tasty curry, I accidentally forgot to buy the creamed corn, and therefore omitted it from my batch, but it still turned out ok. And make sure you know what level of spiciness is the curry paste (as mine turned out way too spicy with just two spoonfuls of red curry paste). But I would definitely like to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I really had high hopes for this recipe. Let me start with the positive: - the recipe was quick and easy to make. - it was cost effective, which I liked. It cost about $5 for the whole pot, which made several meals. I found the recipe to be far too sweet with not quite enough spice. I adjusted the spices several times, and I still couldn't find a blend that I liked. The consistency left something to be desired. It was more like soup than any curry I have ever tasted. It smelled nice, but I felt like I was eating baby food. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I noticed there were no reviews from someone saying they are Indian. So here I am. I tried this out because I was curious about the creamed corn base - all of my curries use tomatoes. I used the ingredients requested with 3 exceptions. 1 - garlic salt 2 - a can of diced tomatoes because the corn started sticking 3 - homemade paneer instead of tofu - but only because I had none, I've used tofu in curry before & as other reviewers have said, you need to brown it first with a little bit of oil, then take it out of the pan while you move onto the onions. I always put the cheese/tofu in last so they stay whole. In regards to curry paste. I noticed quite a few who were unable to use it reviewed a few years back. In the past 2 or 3 years, most major grocers carry curry paste - it's different from curry sauce. Also, other reviewers have mentioned this, the brand makes a HUGE difference. I only use Patak's. I'm always trying different brands because I like to think of myself as a lover of shortcuts - curry paste is one of them. I've used Patak's faithfully ever since I left my parents and missed authentic South Indian cooking (spicy flavorful & spicy hot). I used a medium hot paste because I'm not sure how much my 18 month can do - it must have been just right because she inhaled it as did my 5 year old. As far as measurements go - I don't use them. The beauty of curry is it's YOUR special blend. I'm writing home about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a winner! Made just as stated and it's a quick weeknight dinner. A bit sweet from the creamed corn, I used regular Green Giant; if there are not-as-sweet brands, try that, or perhaps add lemon juice or apple cider vinegar? Good on rice or pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States